Do You Care?

Saturday is the day I get a prayer update from a group called Christian Solidarity Worldwide. This week I read about persecution in China, I saw they were organising a 24-hour prayer vigil for Zhang Kai. Throughout Lent, they are praying for different regions and this week it is the Middle East and North Africa. Do you know what is happening in Sudan? What Boko Haram are doing in Chad and Cameroon as they spread from Nigeria? Do you care?

When you holiday in Mexico or Cuba or Turkey or Egypt or elsewhere do you know what is happening to indigenous Christians in those countries? Do you care?

Earlier in the week, I received email from Open Doors and Voice of the Martyrs Canada.

The information is overwhelming. I usually pray a general prayer through the list and then let God lay any specific situation on my heart for further prayer.

This is my share today – honestly, I am overwhelmed by the information I receive from these groups. If I let it the horror, the pain, the suffering, the fear would be completely overwhelming. I thank God that He is teaching me He is in control and I just have to love. Love in this situation currently means pray for.

Jesus said

10     Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness—the kingdom of heaven is theirs.

11 And blessed are you, blessed are all of you, when people persecute you or denigrate you or despise you or tell lies about you on My account.

Matthew 5:10-11

That’s crazy to my understanding but He said it, more than once.

I’ve already written more than I intended. Please follow the links, subscribe for updates. Remember we are one body and pray for our brothers and sisters.

One thought on “Do You Care?

  1. I am with you there Jules. Like you I do find the sheer volume of tragedy and information too great a weight. I try to make time for each group and pray collectively for the rest and God does impress individual persons and groups on my heart to pray for.the devil is seeking to wear out the saints in these days. How I need the strength that comes from waiting on the Lord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

