Inequality and Why I Love It

I am not getting into the debate about equality and what it means and who it should apply to. Call me a coward if you like but that’s not the purpose of my blog. I think I have said often enough that I am called to love everyone to not need to enter that arena. But the inequality I spoke about yesterday hasn’t left me.

Not because of who I am
But because of what You’ve done
Not because of what I’ve done
But because of who You are

Who I am – Casting Crowns

This is the truth that gives meaning to life. God’s mercy. God’s love. God’s righteousness. God’s sacrifice. It has nothing to do with us except that we accept it. We are saved because He is merciful not because we are worthy. He is merciful because He is good not because we are good. I said yesterday and I still have it hard in my head and heart that my life would be so much simpler if I could stop thinking I have to be good, be right, be perfect and finally accept I can’t be those things but He is those things and He loves me anyway.

16 For God expressed His love for the world in this way: He gave His only Son so that whoever believes in Him will not face everlasting destruction, but will have everlasting life. 17 Here’s the point. God didn’t send His Son into the world to judge it; instead, He is here to rescue a world headed toward certain destruction.

John 3:16-17

He is still not judging me. He is still rescuing me. He is still pouring out His Holy Spirit to do the work of making me right. The only part I have is cooperation, agreement, saying yes.

10 Belief begins in the heart and leads to a life that’s right with God; confession departs from our lips and brings eternal salvation.

Romans 10:10

It’s incredible – unbelievable because everything we know and are taught tells us we have to slog at something to succeed. Success is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration. Not here, not with God. His Holy Spirit will do 100% of the work and we just have to let Him. Now I am not saying that’s easy but THAT is my point. It’s hard because I keep trying to do it myself.

12 So now, my beloved, obey as you have always done, not only when I am with you, but even more so when I can’t be. Continue to work out your salvation, with great fear and trembling, 13 because God is energizing you so that you will desire and do what always pleases Him.

Philippians 2:12-13

People quote the first part of this and it weighs us down. I tell myself with fear and trembling because it is so hard and I am so weak. But it shouldn’t weigh me down. Yes I need to have a fear – God is Holy, He is righteous and He loves me – that is amazing and makes me tremble with awe at His graciousness. But Paul continues: that doesn’t send me to working ON MY OWN. God is energizing me, empowering me, He is working in me to produce both the desire and the ability to please Him. Oh I need to focus on all of that truth not just the first part.

Joy joy joy joy JOY!

Leave a Reply

