Partaker?

As I sat down beside Mark this morning, expecting to watch the trees and birds and to chitchat as he crunched his toast while we both ignored the sad dog eyes watching from the other couch, he surprised me by asking: “Are you a partaker of the divine nature?”

I knew he was reading Smith Wigglesworth as he has a daily devotional that was open on his lap and I was ready with my swift answer. “I am; are you?”

The phrase stuck with me, it’s a hefty question and one to which we should be able to answer yes if we know Jesus as Lord and Saviour.

by which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises, that through these you may be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.

2 Peter 1:4 NKJV

Here’s my usual translation.

Through these things, we have received God’s great and valuable promises, so we might escape the corruption of worldly desires and share in the divine nature.

2 Peter 1:4 The Voice

Partake means share – the greek word is koinonos (κοινωνός) . Partner, associate, companion, comrade – what a privilege, what an honour to be a companion of the Divine nature. Read the first verses of 2 Peter 1 and check out the things God has given us – faith,  grace, peace, knowledge of God just to start.

Are you a partaker of the divine nature? If like me (and Mark) you can say ‘yes’. Take some time to think about what that means for your life, for today, for the next minute. Think about growing in knowledge of Him as His grace and peace abound. Think about having all you need to experience life reflecting God’s nature. Think about the wealth of promises in just these 4 verses.

I’ll be thinking right there with you and praying I reflect more of His glory and virtue today than yesterday.

One thought on “Partaker?

  1. Thank you Jules for that thought from scripture.
    It has such riches within and I will be meditating on them with you.

    Like

Leave a comment