Ordered to Rest

I will bless the Eternal, whose wise teaching orchestrates my days
    and centers my mind at night.

Psalm 16:7

If you asked me what most often stops me praying, doing things I want to do, feeling at peace or keeps me awake I would say thoughts. Thinking – ideas, questions, arguments, scenarios, ‘what-ifs’ running around my mind. Even as I walked the dog this morning and tried to focus on the things I wanted to pray for my mind skittered around and I found myself having to drag focus back. It was hard, even laborious.

Then I read Psalm 16 and this verse pounded on me. Or maybe it tapped me on the shoulder and smiled gently when I looked round. Whatever it did it got my attention. So much so that I added it to my keep app on my phone and it will probably be my verse to memorise next week.

…wise teaching orchestrates my days…

How awesome is that? I don’t need a day planner or personal assistant because if I listen to Him, spend time with Him His teaching is designed to orchestrate my days. (Apologies to all the PAs EAs etc out there – I love you all). Of course, I am not just thinking of the business world. This is for every area of my life from getting up, to exercising, and eating, talking, recreation as well as work.

He will orchestrate my days. Think of an orchestra all those different sections, and sections within sections coming together to make a sound that moves hearts. He can do that for my life and I am much more complex than 150 (or however many) people with instruments.

The wise counsel God gives when I’m awake
    is confirmed by my sleeping heart.
Day and night I’ll stick with God;
    I’ve got a good thing going and I’m not letting go.

Psalm 16:7-8 The Message

My watch tracks my sleep – amazing Fitbit!!! – it breaks my night into 4 stages which I’ll leave you to research. My purpose in telling you this is to point out that part of that sleep cycle is to put all the things that happened during the day into order. File memories, experiences, events into the place in my brain/mind/soul where they will make sense and be accessible as and when I need them. If I don’t have that wonderful thing called sleep where my body and mind have time to regroup and restore then I am not rested and ready for the next day.

God ‘centres my mind at night’. He gives me peace so my heart can sleep and my body can get on with the things it is created to do. Sleep is a huge issue for people. The research that goes into beds, mattresses, pillows, temperature, lighting, sound and more is astounding; and all to make sure we get that solid 7 or 8 hours that will make us able to function. Jesus slept in the stern of a boat during a violent storm. No contoured pillow or body-shaping mattress or any other thing we grasp at. He had peace and slept like the proverbial baby.

Food for thought. Reason to bless Him.

4 thoughts on “Ordered to Rest

  1. I learned long ago that – and this is just for me – that I’m not much of a one hour prayer person. I tend to pray here and there and throughout the day… There are time I know I need to be more focused, but for the most part, I just chat with the Lord throughout the day. And, as you say, He is the best day planner we could have.

    Like

    • I need my concentrated time to read and listen in the morning but my aim is to continue that throughout the day. Constantly listening and talking to Him is my desire – even if I get some odd looks when I whisper aloud or pause to hear…

      Like

Leave a Reply

