Because She has Loved Me

I am constantly amazed by two things. The first is just how much God loves me. I am currently meditating on the Lord’s prayer (Matthew 6:9-13). I haven’t got very far yet, yesterday and today were spent in the first verse.

Our Father

Have you ever stopped and thought about that phrase and what it means? Jesus enables us to have a relationship with the all-powerful, all-knowing creator of the Universe – a relationship in which we can call Him Father.

26 In that day you will ask in My name, and I am not saying to you that I will ask the Father on your behalf [because it will be unnecessary]; 27 for the Father Himself [tenderly] loves you, because you have loved Me and have believed that I came from the Father.

John 16:26-27 (Amplified Version)

Jesus is our mediator, He makes it possible for us to come into God’s presence. But once we are there, because of Jesus, because of who He is and what He has done we can speak to God and He listens and answers us.

Why does God the Father do this? Because we have loved Jesus; it is as simple and as amazing and as wonderful as that. It reminds me of Psalm 91 where God says something very similar.

“Because he clings to Me in love,
    I will rescue him from harm;
    I will set him above danger.
Because he has known Me by name,

Psalm 91:14

That’s the first of the two things that constantly amaze me. The second is how quickly I forget this truth as I live my life.

I have the right to come into the presence of God and talk to Him knowing that He listens and answers not because I am good enough or I get the wording right and persuade Him or any reason apart from loving Jesus. God is my Father, I have been adopted into His family with the right to cry out Abba, Daddy, Papa – to use terms of intimacy that can only exist between a parent and child. There’s no fear, no worry of being found wanting, no doubts that I don’t please Him because I love Jesus and Jesus has presented me as worthy.

How can I forget that and let worries take over? How can I forget that and try to live life my way? How can I forget that it is love that forms the foundation of my relationship with Father, Son and Spirit? How can I not let that same love form the basis of every relationship I have?

God listens to me because I love Jesus. I want to hold onto that when life and all its issues poke at me and when its distractions divert me from holiness. That’s what God wants for me too and it is why He sent His Holy Spirit as Advocate, Counsellor, Truth-bringer. It takes practice. It takes constant returning to the Truth. It takes never giving up when the Accuser whispers doubts about my worthiness, reminds me of my failures.

Today I am going to practice trusting, believing, asking. Tomorrow I am going to practice and daily – little by little, with big leaps, tiny steps and stumbles – I am going to trust and believe and grow in holiness because I love Him.

 

One thought on “Because She has Loved Me

Leave a Reply

