Size Doesn’t Matter

Our dog is a social creature and loves nothing better than to greet other dogs and their owners. It’s unusual to meet anyone when I walk him early in the morning but today we were happy to see a tiny dog heading towards us. As we went on our way after sniffs (dogs not me) I smiled down at him and thought how big he looked compared to the other dog. Now, much as I love him, he is not a big dog and if we’d bumped into one of the large dogs we know then he’d have looked quite small. It’s all about comparison.

I started to think about other things that seem to change size depending on what I compare them to and I remembered the mustard seed. Sometimes I see things with steadfast faith sure that God is bigger than anything that can come. Other times not so much and I wondered why it is that God seems to shrink? God doesn’t change, He can’t change. I read in Tozer that if He changed He would not be God because change implies either becoming better or becoming worse and that’s just silly when you are talking about God. He is immutable – the same yesterday, today and forever.

So, as you probably recognised already, it is me who changes and who needs to change. I touched on this a few weeks ago when I spoke about filling my vision with Him. Mount Everest can seem like the biggest mountain in the world or a speck in the distance depending how close I am to it. If I am looking at Him then every other thing, good or bad, is tiny in comparison but when I look away things can get really big really fast.

Jesus:20 Because you have so little faith. I tell you this: if you had even a faint spark of faith, even faith as tiny as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, “Move from here to there,” and because of your faith, the mountain would move. If you had just a sliver of faith, you would find nothing impossible.

Matthew 17:20

When I look at the issue instead of the answer I lose perspective. He is bigger and more able than anything I can comprehend so a mustard seed describes my faith in comparison to Him pretty accurately.

It’s not about how big the problem/situation/need is.

It is not about how big my faith is.

It is about how big He is.

Read that middle line again. It’s not about my faith. God is still God whether I believe it or not. Whether I remember Him or not. Whether I acknowledge Him or not. Faith as big as a mountain can’t do more than faith as big as a mustard seed because it’s God doing it and He will always do all that is required or necessary. Faith allows me to recognise, acknowledge, learn and declare. The issue is moving the mountain of my self-reliance, self-doubt, self-obsession into the sea and instead, seeing it’s all about Him and believing He is good.

That’s the crux: remembering that He is good. All the time and in every way He is good. Faith believes that, faith accepts that and faith declares that as truth and pursues it.

I wonder what I would see if I truly believed God is good all the time?

Leave a Reply

