Re-Viewed

It’s amazing how we can see things differently from one day to the next. Both positively and negatively our minds are truly incredible creations. Sometimes it’s just having time to think and consider and sometimes it’s input from another source. This morning I was reading Psalm 4 and the first verse made me stop and think.

Answer my prayers, O True God, the righteous, who makes me right.
    I was hopelessly surrounded, and You rescued me.
Once again hear me; hide me in Your favor;
    bring victory in defeat and hope in hopelessness.

Psalm 4:1

The God who makes me right. Not a God who makes me able to win all arguments… but the God who makes it so that when I have to measure up to His standard – I can. That word ‘right’ is the Hebrew  word צֶדֶק (tsedeq) also translated as righteousness or justice. It’s a powerful and wonderful word when it refers to our relationship with God and with each other. It’s the word that ought to underpin all our relationships. That we walk and act in righteousness and justice.

The most wonderful thing is that this is an attribute of God that He shares with me, with us. God is the righteous One, He is the just One and in His goodness, He imbues, endows me with His righteousness.

 O God, you have declared me perfect in your eyes;[ayou have always cared for me in my distress; now hear me as I call again. Have mercy on me. Hear my prayer.

[a] Psalm 4:1 O God, you have declared me perfect in your eyes, literally, “God of my righteousness.”

Psalm 4:1 The Living Bible

You see the footnote? God of my righteousness – if it weren’t for God I would have no righteousness, it’s from Him and actually, it is for Him too so that I can come into His presence, come before Him, have Him in my life moment by moment and not be squished by His holiness and goodness.

I would be squished if He didn’t make me righteous. How could I not be when faced with the absolute surpassing glory of His radiant goodness and me a sinner? Squished, obliterated, consumed because He is God and I am a mortal but He makes me able to stand, to sit, to kneel to worship Him.

That put a spring in my step this morning, it’s not a new thought but as I said it was a fresh one this morning that brightened my day. I pray it brightens yours.

2 thoughts on “Re-Viewed

Leave a Reply

