No Man is an Island.

I had a dream last night. To put it in context I went to a conference a few weeks ago about walking with God and moving in prophetic giftings. One of the ways to hear from God is in dreams so I have asked God to speak and tried to listen and be more aware. Anyway, I dreamed of some people I haven’t thought of in years; they were instrumental, when we joined a new church, in making us feel welcome and loved, in helping us settle in quickly and successfully.

As I said I haven’t thought of them in a long time but as I went for my walk I started to pray for them. I ended up moving through as many of the churches, people, ministries that have influenced my Christian life as came to mind. There were a lot and my prayers were brief (20 minutes isn’t that long) but I thanked God for their input in my life, for what I had learned and asked Him to bless them and their ministry. In many cases, the people concerned might be retired or even dead now but I could pray for the ongoing work coming from them, that they contributed to. There have been many many people in sermons and ministries and examples who have influenced me towards Jesus. There are many today and more to come and I pray that I might have had and continue to have that same influence on others.

During that period, there was no king in Israel, and everyone did what seemed right to them.

Judges 21:25

This idea is repeated several times in Judges and every time it jars against me. Why? Why when they had the law when they had the example and stories of what God had done did ‘what seemed right to them’ not match up with what was right? Moses specifically told them to talk about what God had done. Deuteronomy 4:9Deuteronomy 6:7; Deuteronomy 11:19 so my question is always why did they not get it right? Was it parents not talking or children not listening? I know God was working out His plan through them but I don’t want to be in a place where what I consider right isn’t God’s will.

That’s why it is important for us to have fellowship, to meet with other Christians, to listen to teachers, to check our lives against His Word and hold each other accountable. It’s vital to be in relationship with people who set us good examples of how to live, people for us to look up to, people for us to set an example to in turn. No man is an island says the poet, and it is true we need each other, one body said Paul, branches on  the vine said Jesus – interconnected supporting and helping each other.

I started off giving thanks for all those who have encouraged, taught and helped me along this path. I finish by saying I want to be sure I set the best example I can by living a life that declares God is good at every turn. A life that demonstrates that goodness in all it’s magnificent grace and power. A life that shines brightly and shows me worthy of His calling, that brings glory to His name. A life that touches others and encourages them beside me or draws them to meet Him, to meet the One who is everything.

2 thoughts on “No Man is an Island.

  1. Ask and you shall receive…….
    Every good and perfect gift comes down from the Father of lights!
    How we need to ask and ask again.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Laying It Out | Shiny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

