YOLO

You Only Live Once. Maybe you’ve heard that phrase. I’d be amazed if you haven’t, it was everywhere. It was used as an excuse for every foolish, brave, amazing or ridiculous thing people did. The idea isn’t new if you check wiki there’ve been other sayings with a similar theme. Basically, to me, it can be summed up as don’t waste your life.

Paul the apostle actually said something similar about that:

As a prisoner of the Lord, I urge you: Live a life that is worthy of the calling He has graciously extended to you

Ephesians 4:1

Paul is in prison, he knows, or assumes at least, that it is unlikely he will ever be free to continue his travels, to visit those he has pastored and loves; all he has left is to write encouragement to them. So, instead of a pity party living in fear of what the Romans might do to him, he continues the life he has been living;  he encourages, exhorts, teaches so that every moment he has is used for God’s glory.

In light of all this, here’s what I want you to do. While I’m locked up here, a prisoner for the Master, I want you to get out there and walk—better yet, run!—on the road God called you to travel. I don’t want any of you sitting around on your hands. I don’t want anyone strolling off, down some path that goes nowhere.

Ephesians 4:1 The Message

Can’t you see Paul writing, rushing to get the words down, his passion overflowing as he wants to communicate to them what God has shown him daily over the years? Life is too short to waste time. God has too much for us to claim and run with, too much to give us for us to share with the world around us. We are so privileged: this life and eternal life to come filled with blessing and good things from the God who loves us and wants nothing more than to shower us with everything we need to get closer to Him and bring Him closer to others.

I prayed this morning that all 5 of my senses would be open to see, hear, smell, taste and feel what God is doing around me so that I might do what I have graciously been called to do. I don’t want to stand before Him and see wasted opportunities, wasted chances. I don’t want to see people and situations where He could have used me if I would have just let Him. I might be going to live twice because of Jesus but that’s not an excuse to live lazy

4 thoughts on “YOLO

  1. Lord give me the desperation to walk, run, share and not give up!
    Where does it go? How soon it can diminish.
    Let me fan it into that flame which the Holy Spirit brought so long ago. Amen

    Like

    • I know how you feel, felt the same as I wrote. But – and this is not a cop out or way to avoid – I don’t believe there’ll be regrets in heaven. We’ll know, He’ll know but somehow it will be all right. In fact that should make us more diligent because He is just that gracious.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Call Him Good | Shiny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

