The Reason for My Reason

I was walking our dog early yesterday morning. It was a beautiful start to the day, blue sky, waning moon visible in the south-west, birds chirping, flowers blooming and a crisp feeling in the air so my hands were chilly. I looked down a gap between some houses and saw a big black crow flying towards a tree with a long stalk of straw dangling from its beak. Such a long stalk that it hung way below the bird.

I’ve been thinking about this since then, the image keeps coming back to me along with the passage from Matthew where Jesus tells us not to worry.

25 Here is the bottom line: do not worry about your life. Don’t worry about what you will eat or what you will drink. Don’t worry about how you clothe your body. Living is about more than merely eating, and the body is about more than dressing up. 26 Look at the birds in the sky. They do not store food for winter. They don’t plant gardens. They do not sow or reap—and yet, they are always fed because your heavenly Father feeds them. And you are even more precious to Him than a beautiful bird. If He looks after them, of course He will look after you.27 Worrying does not do any good; who here can claim to add even an hour to his life by worrying?

Matthew 6:25-27

I thought about that crow flapping big perfectly designed wings carrying straw perfectly weighted to not hinder the flight to build a nest. Who taught that bird how to select materials, to weave them together so they will support eggs and chicks? Who taught it that this is the right time to build? Who taught it which tree would be ideal for a home? Did the bird spend all winter worrying about getting the right tree? Did it pace back and forth through the winter worrying if it would find enough material to build a strong enough nest? Did it worry about wind storms or torrential rain or drought as the chicks took flight and left the nest? Did it put away some straw last year just in case there wasn’t any this year?

You know the answers to that as well as I do. Seems to me we are the only part of creation that worries about things. Ah but Jules, you might say, that’s because we are the peak of creation, we have reason. I answer that our ability to reason is all the more reason for us to trust and not worry. Has Jesus ever lied to me? Has He ever let me down? No, unlike the lies and failures I have given to Him all He has ever been is faithful

Jesus said check out the birds, look at the flowers, they are precious to God, look how he cares for them. YOU are more precious so relax, lean on God, be the creation He created you to be. The pinnacle of His work, the being He formed to love and to be loved by. The being He gave reason to so that in light of all His goodness and glory and majesty we would see no other response but to worship Him.

Crows just be crows.

Flowers just be flowers.

I need to just be what He says I am – new creation, perfected, called to worship, serve and trust.

I need to just be dead so I can live my new life and that’s the most reasonable thing of all.

One thought on “The Reason for My Reason

  1. Amen! I tend to NOT be a worrier which tends to drive worriers up the wall. I’m not boasting on me but on the work that God has done in me. Why? Because my middle name growing up was Worry-Wart. I worried constantly and about everything. Now, I hardly worry about anything and I praise God for that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

