Gotta Serve Somebody

I was reading the end of Joshua today – both the end of the book and his physical end too. I knew the ‘as for me and my house’ was coming and I was excited because it’s a wonderful, bold declaration. But today as I read I realised something I hadn’t before.

I had always thought Joshua offered the Israelites a choice between following the LORD or not following Him. But the choice is more detailed than that.

15 If you decide that you’re not willing to serve Him, then today is the day for you to choose whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors bowed to in the land beyond the great River, or the gods of the Amorites whose country you possess. But as for me and my family, we will serve the Eternal.

Joshua 24:15

Joshua knows we will worship something. Perhaps, like the Israelites, we’ll recognise the other gods we might choose or perhaps, in our arrogance, we won’t because we think we are too evolved, too wise, too educated to need a god. But whether we recognise it or not we will spend our lives, our time in pursuit of, in the service of, in the worship of something beyond ourselves. It’s evident if you look around at all the gods we raise up in place of God. All the things we desperately spend our time on to give meaning to lives that were meant for Him.

Some of the things we pursue are wholesome and worthwhile but they still can’t satisfy our hunger for God. Some of them appear harmless or sadly we choose harmful but nothing else can satisfy that longing. Even those of us who have chosen to serve the LORD have side altars to other gods.

Today is the day to tear them down again and recommit to serving Him, or commit for the first time. Undoubtedly, they will rise again because we are weak imperfect beings easily distracted but every time we tear them down they are weakened and one day they will remain in the dust while He is glorified.

I have an early start tomorrow but if I have time I will pre-write the prayer blog that should have been this morning. No promises. Have a blessed weekend!

3 thoughts on “Gotta Serve Somebody

  1. We are to be ruthless warriors I guess.
    Each time we spy a strange god masquerading as a harmless “–?” whatever;
    we are to do what the Israelites did to the peoples they were sent to conquer, and utterly destroy them, rendering each point of entry into our lives unbreachable by the help of the Lord.
    Show no mercy and burn the bridges.
    How courageous are we?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I like your “side altars” quote. Boy if this isn’t true enough. We all have them, try as might to beware of finding ourselves facedown to them. Yes, thankful for His Word that is a lamp to my feet and light to my path, as the Holy Spirit illuminates the way. My flesh is often contrary to His leading, but my hearts desire is for His house and not mine:) Yes, stumbling at times, but thankful for mercy and Grace to join in today, As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord! Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Right Choice? | Shiny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

