Consistency

I’m still lingering on the topic of gentleness. I thought about another situation today where I struggle to respond with love. There’s a person who bottom line makes me feel judged. If they are judging me then that is their problem but my response to that feeling (whether it is real or imagined) is my problem. I tend to react by trying to justify myself, or laugh it off in a passive-aggressive way or even avoid them. I can’t quite get a handle on the right response. I know what it is, I know I am not subject to their comments and judgements but somewhere between my head and my actions something disconnects.

Maybe it’s because it’s not going through my heart or maybe my heart is in need of a renewal, whichever it is I need to filter my actions through a pure and clean heart and let the fruit of the Spirit show.

I was praying for this group today and the prayer for the current believers had a line that resonated with me.

Pray they will learn to live in the power of Christ’s Spirit, demonstrating the fruit of the Spirit consistently.

Isn’t that what we all need? Paul says no-one can have any law against the fruits of the Spirit Galatians 5:22-24 If I could consistently live with that fruit showing and being experienced by those around me then both they and I would be happier.

How happy are those who have learned how to praise You;
    those who journey through life by the light of Your face.

Psalm 89:15

It’s the light of His grace and His presence that produces and ripens that fruit. Remaining in His presence is hard. It requires constant recentering and I give thanks and praise that despite the evidence of my day He is the centre. I’m sharing this song by Keith Green who might be my alltime favourite songwriter because it sums it up. Nothing lasts except the grace of God but that grace is eternal and produces fruit and change and renewal and life and every good thing. It’s His grace that demonstrates how good He is. It’s His grace that gives me courage to look into my heart and see things that need to be changed and trust He will do what needs doing.

One thought on “Consistency

Leave a Reply

