Despised and Rejected

I just received my Voice of the Martyrs newsletter and (as is my new habit) I read it over breakfast this morning. It was both glorious and sad to read of faith standing firm against persecution and new faith rising amid bloodshed and butchery. I didn’t have a clear idea for writing, the persecuted church was poking at me but I didn’t want to go there again and get boring… The newsletter combined with some things I read have persuaded me to bang that drum again without regret because if we don’t care who will?

I’m not going to say much more but here’s the link to a post we all need to read.  The War on Christians

I don’t care as much as I need to. Do you?

18 If you find that the world despises you, remember that before it despised you, it first despised Me. 19 If you were a product of the world order, then it would love you. But you are not a product of the world because I have taken you out of it, and it despises you for that very reason. 20 Don’t forget what I have spoken to you: “a servant is not greater than the master.” If I was mistreated, you should expect nothing less. If they accepted what I have spoken, they will also hear you. 21 Everything they do to you they will do on My account because they do not know the One who has sent Me.

John 15:18-21

One last thing – just because Jesus said we should expect this does not mean we should not pray for and support our brothers and sisters who are suffering.

13 Let love continue among you.

Don’t forget to extend your hospitality to all—even to strangers—for as you know, some have unknowingly shown kindness to heavenly messengers in this way.

Remember those imprisoned for their beliefs as if you were their cellmate; and care for any who suffer harsh treatment, as you are all one body.

Hebrews 13:1-3

I ask again: if we don’t pray for them who will?

Leave a Reply

