Love That Will Not Let Me Go

I didn’t look at blogging this week with the intention of focusing on Holy Week, in fact if anything I thought I’d be too cool for that… I imagined Good Friday and Easter Sunday would be on topic but the rest would be my usual delivery of whatever God was saying to me. I guess I have done that but He seems to have related things to the events 2000 years ago. I suppose I shouldn’t really be surprised because if the death and resurrection of Jesus aren’t central to my faith, my life I am missing the mark.

10 I want to know Him inside and out. I want to experience the power of His resurrection and join in His suffering, shaped by His death, 11 so that I may arrive safely at the resurrection from the dead.

Philippians 3:10-11

I’ve talked about the Suffering Servant, the Lamb of God, the Good Shepherd and the cross and although I haven’t mentioned resurrection that fact is there because without it the rest loses meaning.

17 if the Anointed has not been raised from the dead, then your faith is worth less than yesterday’s garbage, you are all doomed in your sins,

1 Corinthians 15:17

So, even as today I read in Revelation 5 about the Lamb of God who is worthy and holy and wept because of His suffering and my sin, in my heart the joy and power of the Resurrection reigned. I cried real tears because the wounds were for me, His pain was for me, His death was for me (and I am not saying I shouldn’t cry) but as I did I felt as if God tilted His head and looked at me with slightly raised eyebrows as if to say ‘and now…?’ So I thought I had better think.

I know Jesus endured pain, abuse and then suffered and died. I know He did it to be obedient and with trust that God had a plan and would fulfill and bring something glorious.

I thought about my struggles with temptation and sin and selfishness and – you get the picture – nowhere near as painful physically as scourging, thorns, nails and a cross but I still get to have that same hope, that same faith that God has a plan and will do something glorious in me. So all I am lacking is obedience…

I think I finally begin to understand what Paul says in Philippians 3:10-11 quoted above. If I can put my obedience in the context of His Suffering, in the context of His Death and the result in the context of His Resurrection power my life can truly be transformed radically, wonderfully, permanently.

God is gracious because the work of Holy Spirit is to transform me, an ongoing process that I resist and He finds new ways to highlight in me and for me. It’s not done yet, like Paul in the very next verse I am not perfect, but like Paul, I am going to grab hold of this and move a little bit further empowered by His love. That love that will not let me go.

3 thoughts on “Love That Will Not Let Me Go

  1. Thank you for this explanation of that verse in Philippians, it has often confused me also! Sharing in His sufferings is indeed important, but His resurrection is just the most exciting thing to think about. Those Bible quotes are great as always (pretty much the whole Bible is great, so for me you can’t go far wrong with quotes!). God bless 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

