Taking for Granted.

Don’t you hate being taken for granted? For example, when no-one has been to work, everyone’s been home relaxing but everyone turns to mum (aka me) and says “What’s for dinner?” Or “why’s the laundry not done?”. Or when something needs organising among friends or at work and everyone looks at you. Or (boot on the other foot) when you automatically walk to the passenger door because you take it for granted your husband will drive. Is it always a bad thing to take something for granted?

I was thinking about this earlier. Before I start my daily readings I always ask God to be with me, guide me, inspire me. Just recently I have started to thank Him because He will do those things as He always does. The little thought occurred – am I taking God for granted? Rather than spend the time I should have been talking to Him worrying about it I jotted the idea down. Then as I read more along the same lines popped up so I took that as a sign it was my blog theme.

I had written in my journal before this thought popped up:

God is Good. God is always good in every situation, all the time. It is not about me being good but about who He is.

I’ve been writing that God is good quite a lot recently. It’s been like a drum beat in my head. I expect Him to be good in my life. How that works out is up to Him and it might be that I feel blown about by the wind and waves but underneath I have that certainty that I am standing on the Rock. That confidence that He has me and my trust in Him is not misplaced. I could call that taking Him for granted, maybe some people would but His Word tells me to do it. Over and over it tells me to trust, hope, stand, believe. Here’s just one example.

23 Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.

Hebrews 10:23

I was reading about Joseph and boy was that man popular: Dad’s favourite, He was Potiphar’s favourite, he was Potiphar’s wife’s favourite, he was the jailor’s favourite, he became Pharoah’s favourite. Did he take this popularity for granted, let it go to his head? Did he think ‘man I am the business I can do what I want’? No, he said plainly to Potiphar’s wife:

But he refused. “With me in charge,” he told her, “my master does not concern himself with anything in the house; everything he owns he has entrusted to my care. No one is greater in this house than I am. My master has withheld nothing from me except you, because you are his wife. How then could I do such a wicked thing and sin against God?”

Genesis 39:8-9

The writer to the Hebrews doesn’t think that his certain hope means he can do what he wants either:

23 Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. 24 And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds,

Hebrews 10:23-24

I think it’s ok for me to thank God for what I believe He will do, to have faith in His goodness, to trust in His mercy. I think He does want me to take that as fact, to take it for granted because He has promised and He does not lie. However, that doesn’t mean I then sit back and think how great I am as if it’s somehow about me – it is all always about Him. I wish He could take for granted that I would always be faithful, that I would always be thankful, that I would always seek to please Him. I guess that’s why He is God and I am not and He will continue to be good and I will continue to trust.

2 thoughts on “Taking for Granted.

Leave a Reply

