Real Rest

I was in hospital for a few hours on Monday. A minor procedure which went well and I am fine. A friend was asking how it had gone and I replied ‘fine’ and then added that it was sad how much I had enjoyed being there. To clarify, I have only been in hospital to give birth twice and for a couple of minor procedures – no nasty life threatening or painful stays to spoil my experiences. We had a little discussion about why I said ‘sad’- language barrier I suspect. The English language might be universal (almost) but there are words that completely separate Brits from Colonials – you know who you are. Back to my point: she suggested and I agreed that it was the ability to relax because someone else is in charge combined with care and attention from the staff. You’re probably agreeing with me that it is a little bit sad (pathetic) that I enjoy it – or maybe not.

I was reading today some verses that I have written about before. I debated doing it again but why not? I need to hear them again and again until that day when I have them so deep within me that I remember more than words.

28-30 “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.

Matthew 11:28-30 The Message

You might know these verses better as ‘take my yoke’. These verses describe what I was enjoying on that bed: the ability to let someone else be in charge, tender care and concern being shown to me, the timing of when I should lie down and when I should get up. I am used to being in charge, being the one to make decisions for myself and others, being responsible. It’s freeing to let someone else be that.

My Lord wants to do that for me. But not just when I have problems, not just when I am tired and weary, not just when I reach the end of my tether and can’t cope anymore. He wants to yoke with me now when I am relaxed and fresh. Now when I have good things planned for the day. Now when I am bathed in the assurance of His love. Now when all things are good.

It starts at the end of my tether, when I am driven into His arms but continues as I grow in love for Him, as He becomes more and I become less. It’s joy and peace and love and not one tiny bit sad at all. That’s where I learn the ‘unforced rhythms of grace’ – what beautiful words. Keeping company with Him I learn to live freely and lightly.

3 thoughts on “Real Rest

  1. Totally understand.
    I am so grateful that God showed us by example to ‘rest’ after toiling all week – – His instructions were to rest on the 7th day.

    I ignored those instructions for many years, sometimes working 7days a week and all I had to show for it was a bit extra money from the overtime which I used to pamper myself since I was so worn out to live a meaningful life. Something was missing, something money couldn’t buy.

    Now I’ve learned to respect that my body needs rest and it has made a world of difference. I do miss being pampered from time to time though, so I guess I have to treat myself to a little spa day soon.

    Glad your procedure went well and that you got to feel pampered too 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

