Debate?

I actually sat here for quite a while this morning debating this blog. I guess that actually sums up the theme.

The world feels like it is in mourning after the deaths this week of David Bowie and Alan Rickman. Two great artists who suffered and died from the disease we call cancer. The whole world? you might ask wondering if I am exaggerating – it certainly feels like it. Before I got out of bed this morning I had 2 personal messages about it – orally from Mark and via SMS from my daughter. People say these deaths come in threes and are now looking around for who is next – assuming we discount Lemmy. Must be awkward to be famous and aging right now…

But, as I said to Beckee these deaths come in 100s, it’s just that most of them only ‘count’ to family and friends. Every day 100s, (1000s?} of people die and we are unconcerned. I confess my first thought when I hear about someone I admire dying is ‘I hope they knew Jesus.’ To my shame that’s not my first thought when I brush past someone in a store, sit by someone in Starbucks or on the sky-train, when I wave at a neighbour. I pray for ‘the lost’ but what else do I do?

The opportunity for me to show Jesus in my life to one of these icons is and always will be (most probably) zero. However, despite our adulation, our recognition these famous people are no more important in God’s grand scheme of things than you or I or the people around me. I could spend my days writing letters to every star I know, telling them about Jesus and what He has done for me and them. I might even manage to touch one by doing so but that’s unlikely to be my purpose. People are touched by relationship, by what they see, by love in action. My life is better spent being the witness Jesus sent me to be to the people here on my cul-de-sac, here on my street, here in my strata, here in my neighbourhood, here in my city; better spent living daily a life worth living. A life filled with purpose and intent. I probably won’t stand on a street corner and preach the gospel – been there and done that actually – but I hope I will live a life that make people ask ‘why? how? who?’

This was the verse of the day when I opened Bible Gateway. I actually think it is pretty apt on many levels.

20 If someone claims, “I love God,” but hates his brother or sister, then he is a liar. Anyone who does not love a brother or sister, whom he has seen, cannot possibly love God, whom he has never seen. 21 He gave us a clear command, that all who love God must also love their brothers and sisters.

1 John 4:20-21

I worry about the salvation of people I never met but not those I do meet. I claim to love God who I have never seen but deny that love to those I can see.

Sobering thoughts but not really a matter for debate.

One thought on “Debate?

  1. So much like my thoughts as I go through life. When will I make a difference to the people I know instead of vainly longing to save the rest of the world?

    Like

Leave a Reply

