Ask the Expert

Short share today at the end of a blessed day because tomorrow I have a hospital appointment early that might mean I don’t have time to sit here and type. It’s ok though because I had two things this morning, God knew!

I can recite these verses in what turns out to be a mix of the NIV and KJV – odd how different words impact me. But I will quote from the Voice (I always add the link on the reference and you can investigate versions there very easily:

Place your trust in the Eternal; rely on Him completely;
    never depend upon your own ideas and inventions.
Give Him the credit for everything you accomplish,
    and He will smooth out and straighten the road that lies ahead.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding – is how it is stored in my head and heart. Good advice because as I was saying on Saturday with my slippery thoughts my own understanding, my ideas and inventions lead me astray far too easily. I need to trust God, to rely on Him completely. He’s dependable. He’s proved that over and over to me and to people I know,  beyond what anyone could consider to be random chance or coincidence.

This is where I mix two translations – in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight. Give Him the credit and ask for His advice. He’s the Creator, He’s the Omniscient One, He’s the First and the Last it only makes sense to ask Him. If I was buying paint I’d consult the paint guys in Home Depot (or wherever I buy it) if I was gardening I’d ask John if I was building a bridge I’d ask Mark. As I am living my life and aiming to be like Him I will ask the expert and give Him the credit when I make the right choice because left to my own devices I’d not do a good job – if I managed to avoid a complete mess.

That’s the second part: if I ask Him, and listen, then He’ll not just point me in the right direction; He’ll get along side me and advise me every step of the way. He’ll provide the tools and make sure I get enough rest. He’ll restore my energy, sort out every need I have.

Proverbs is a treasure of good advice – some of it needs noodling out but it is so worth reading. Wisdom and understanding – rely on His and make it my own.

One thought on “Ask the Expert

Leave a Reply

