Obsessed

I watched a documentary about Peter Kay this week. If you don’t know who he is, or don’t find him funny that’s ok because I am not talking about his comedy just know he is a very successful comedian. In the documentary, he spoke about his youth. He spoke about his room being filled with VHS tapes of comedy shows and films, of having hundreds of albums of music and comedy songs and acts. He told how he would watch and listen for hours making notes and then watching again until ready to write his own material. He spoke about how he was happiest when he was making other people laugh and though he tried to do ‘normal’ work, in the end, he had to go for it and try to be a comedian. When he succeeded beyond anyone’s wildest dreams he involved his friends in his success. He has boyhood friends acting with him in tv shows along with other friends he has met along the way.  When people talked about him they mentioned the warmth that comes from him and to him when he is on stage, the way he has of relating to multiple generations.

What he has is passion for the thing he loves.

20 But one thing we can tell you: we cannot possibly restrain ourselves from speaking about what we have seen and heard with our own eyes and ears.

Acts 4:20

Peter and John speaking to the court that had just warned them to stop talking about Jesus. I thought about the last time someone told me to stop talking about Jesus. Truthfully they didn’t tell me, they told someone else and they told me but I stopped. Don’t want to offend anyone, don’t want to be a ‘bible basher’, example not words – these are all excuses to stay quiet, to not cause problems, to be liked. Unfortunately, much as I bring a gospel of Peace I also bring the gospel of Truth and that can be uncomfortable.

Peter Kay was just one example, there are many people who have pursued their passion amid criticism, persecution, mockery, insult. I wonder what is different about them and me? My passion is not so great I think. I have books, videos, articles, but I don’t spend hours studying, learning, absorbing. Maybe if I did then my words wouldn’t cause offense but would really bring life, because I don’t want to be a ‘bible basher’ or an uncontrolled fanatic even if I am accused of being one. I want to be so obsessed by Jesus, so wrapped up in Him that the things that don’t matter really no longer matter. But the things that do matter – love, peace, joy, relationship, forgiveness ooze out of every pore, move my hands, open my eyes and ears.

People in the world know that to be good at something you have to dedicate your time, your energy to it sometimes to the exclusion of all else. Why would I think getting to know Jesus, to becoming like Him, is any different?

15 Study and do your best to present yourself to God approved, a workman [tested by trial] who has no reason to be ashamed, accurately handling and skillfully teaching the word of truth.

2 Timothy 2:15 Amplified Bible

One thought on “Obsessed

Leave a Reply

