The Real Me

Mirrors are interesting things. When I am driving I glance in the rearview mirror or the wing mirror to see what is going on around me so that I can make appropriate decisions like indicating my lane changes, stops and corners. When I do this I don’t for a second think that the mirror is not showing me exactly what is in the lane behind me. I trust it. So why is it when I look at myself in the mirror I don’t see what other people do? Somehow I get the power to see the ‘real me’ that no-one else sees. Then when I walk away I can forget really fast if I checked my hair and have to go back.

I have that same power to see the ‘real me’ when it comes to my relationship with God. I had the wonderful pleasure of a couple of hours prayer yesterday with two beautiful ladies. We were praying for each other and when my turn came I was blessed by their words but that little voice whispered: “ah but that’s not who you really are. You want to be like that but you aren’t. They just don’t know you.”

But the words touched somewhere inside me and I heard the other Voice remind me of all the things I believe and write here. That when God looks at me He sees Jesus because I am covered by His righteousness. He sees the new heart He gave me so why would He not speak words to these ladies of how He sees me? Words that show who I am in the process of becoming? The ‘now but not yet’ me.

I don’t think I am alone in being my own worst enemy. I don’t think I am the only one who takes a look and ignores all the good things and emphasises the failures, the need to be betters. So I hear people say beautiful things that I know God is saying but under my smile there’s the doubt that it is true and the doubt it will ever be true.

Wake up my soul. Yes, there’s a tension between now and not yet. But when God speaks it happens. My favourite life-changing verse for this year has been:

because your old life is dead and gone. Your new life is now hidden, enmeshed with the Anointed who is in God.

Colossians 3:3

I’m not in a crisis of faith, not floundering under the weight of failure I just needed a swift and pertinent reminder that God is good and He’s not finished with me BUT He is pleased with me right now where I am.

I write that a lot and every time it sinks in deeper. God absolutely does see the ‘real me’. I’m the one who has the problem with that.

 

One thought on “The Real Me

  1. So much reality in this, it is hard to take. Just what I do too and have a rather unsatisfactory view of myself Positive affirmations are sidelined to my warped view so often.
    New Years resolution. To accept who I am in Christ much more. So thank you for this Jules.

    Like

Leave a Reply

