All the Time

We’re going through a hard time at the moment. In perspective it’s not hard compared with many people – we’re not homeless or being threatened with death, we’re not having to flee our country nor are we starving but for us, it’s still hard. And God knows that.

Crazy thoughts start when you face hard times. Thoughts like God is punishing me for not being good enough. Or this is  happening because I am not perfect enough for God to bless me. You can start to panic and try and work out ways of solving the problems that remove any reliance on God. No matter how sensible these might sound, for me as a Christian who believes God is good all the time, they are all wrong.

God doesn’t punish me. He took any punishment that I deserved (and I deserve a lot) and placed it onto His Son Jesus.

We all have wandered off, like shepherdless sheep,
    scattered by our aimless striving and endless pursuits;
The Eternal One laid on him, this silent sufferer,
    the sins of us all.

Isaiah 53:6

So any suffering, hardship, trouble I face is not a punishment from God. He loves me.

God doesn’t only bless me when I am good enough. He blesses me all the time because He loves me. He has adopted me as His child. I am held close to Him and sheltered under the shadow of His wings. No matter what happens I can be sure that He can bring things to my benefit out of it.

28 We are confident that God is able to orchestrate everything to work toward something good and beautiful when we love Him and accept His invitation to live according to His plan.

Romans 8:28

Not some things, not most things, not nearly everything – but all things.

I can try and work things out alone but why would I do that when I have the promises of God that He will never leave or forsake me, that goodness and mercy follow me, that He has plans and purposes for me? I am trusting Him for my eternal salvation, for the promise of everlasting – and that’s a really long time – life, so why would I not trust Him with this brief amount of time right now?  Instead of focusing on the problem I choose to focus on Him. Every time that worry raises its head above the rampart I raise my eyes to Father and see what He is doing, what He has for me to do. Like a child I hold His hand and trust He will do what He has said at the right time and in the right way.

Place your trust in the Eternal; rely on Him completely;
    never depend upon your own ideas and inventions.
Give Him the credit for everything you accomplish,
    and He will smooth out and straighten the road that lies ahead.

Proverbs 3:5-6

There’s no promise that my life will always be hunky-dory plain sailing easy breezy. None. If there was then I should have to look at those Christians who have followed Jesus and been martyred, are being persecuted, are starving or dying of disease and say what? In fact, the Bible promises us persecution and the hatred of the world if we follow Him. However, I am promised a faithful and loving God who has plans and purposes for me, One who bears my burdens and walks beside me.

3 thoughts on “All the Time

  1. I agree. I’ve been saying these things on my blog (brokennesstobeauty.wordpress.com), and my forthcoming book says the same! I think you’d like it too. Brokenness to Beauty: Transforming Your Brokenness into a Beautiful Life was written to encourage those going through a hard time in life, whatever the cause. And we all have those times, or live with a trial for a lifetime. There is a way to live joyfully and become stronger in the midst of trials. Thanks for pointing that out too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

