More

 

This verse was at the bottom of my journal page this morning.

EASE me down the path of Your truth.
    FEED me Your word
    because You are the True God who has saved me.
    I wait all day long, hoping, trusting in You.

Psalm 25:5

This image was what my mind went straight to:

babybird

A hungry baby bird waiting, trusting its momma to bring food. Food that’s well chewed, easy to swallow and warm.

Ease me down the path of Your truth. Don’t push me down it. Don’t stand at the top watching as I stumble and fall but hold my hand and lead me beside those still waters. Guide me through the valley of the shadow of death so I don’t have to be afraid. Lead me along the narrow path that leads to life.

Feed me Your word. Teach me, let me hear your voice. You are the Bread of Life. Don’t let me take too much so I don’t digest and absorb. But give me mouthfuls I can chew and swallow that will nourish me and make me hungry for more because your word is sweeter than honey, it is light to my path. Please do make me hungry for more though not satisfied with what I have of You.

Because You are the True God who has saved me. You are! You gathered me like a mother gathers her chicks. You gave Your Son to purchase me, to set me free and to adopt me as Your child. The freedom I could never win for myself -from death, from fear, from sin – You have won for me and given freely.

I wait all day long, hoping, trusting in You. You are the One under whose wings I shelter. You are the One who comforts and consoles me. You are the One who promises to never leave nor forsake me. You are the One who says nothing can separate us.

That picture is not a pretty fluffy chick that makes us go aaaaahhhh! But I think perhaps it’s more like the way I ought to look when I seek God: desperate, helpless and trusting.

One thought on “More

  1. Thank you for painting that picture. It’s sometimes difficult to adequately describe ” being hungry for God” but that does it for me today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

