Quest!

I’m a reader, I confess to being a reader of high fantasy and adventure, of books where there’s action, mystery, searching, danger and heroes. I like to write about that stuff too, I’m a total romantic for knights in shining armour, dark, dangerous dungeons and throwing in the occasional dragon or other fantastical beast doesn’t hurt either. I don’t think I’m alone in that, I think even the most cynical person secretly has a yen for such things they just disguise them and call them by other names. I think we’re created with a built-in longing to do, to be, to become something bigger and better than we currently are.

You have rescued us from dark powers and brought us safely into the kingdom of Your Son, whom You love

Colossians 1:13

This is a ‘fantasy genre’ moment; we flock in hordes to see movies about the battle between dark and light, good and evil in all types of settings. We all (or most rational beings) want to be in the kingdom of good, of right and justice, on the side of light. God moves us into a real honest-to-goodness kingdom of light when we accept His Son’s gift of forgiveness and new life.

Timothy, don’t let this happen to you—run away from these things! You are a man of God. Your quest is for justice, godliness, faithfulness, love, perseverance, and gentleness.

1 Timothy 6:11

The previous verses of the letter describe people caught up in the lust for wealth and desires for riches; Paul is warning Timothy to stay away – to run away from such things. He reminds him he is a man of God and then reminds him of his quest. A quest, an endeavour that will demand effort. A quest for what? Fame and fortune are already out of the running Paul says Timothy should pursue things less tangible but with far reaching implications for his character.

I think the ‘constitution’ of the new kingdom we’ve been moved into, made citizens of requires us to be just, to seek to be godly, it demands faithfulness and gentleness, perseverance in seeking all these things and most of all we have to love. The very things Paul encourages Timothy to quest after are the things I need to quest after. They are things I need to set my heart on, to train for and spend my life seeking. The opportunity to pursue them is right there, and that pursuit is truly something worth spending my life on.

This is a day when we remember those who have died in wars. They were fighting for our freedom, to ensure that I can sit here today and write this without fear of oppression or punishment. I am free to quest for those things above without danger of anything worse than mockery. I wonder why settling for mediocrity instead of that pursuit is so enticing?

Leave a Reply

