Awakening Love

I just watched the most beautiful performance of All I Ask of You sung by Josh Groban and Kelly Clarkson. It made me tearful because it is such a beautiful love song.  Who doesn’t enjoy a good love song? Words that make you feel warm and cherished, words that reassure you and make you feel important to someone. Words that describe the one thing we really are all searching for.

I’m here, nothing can harm you,
my words will warm and calm you

Let me be your shelter,
let me be your light;

Say you want me with you, here beside you,
anywhere you go, let me go too,
that’s all I ask of you.

I don’t know about you, but that is exactly what I want from one who loves me.  I can say with total assurance that those promises are made to us by a God who always keeps His word.

In January this year we had a ‘Boot Camp’ at church. I’m glad to say the most exhausting thing we did was worship and pray for a couple of hours at a time: it was a spiritual boot camp to help start the new year off right. It was a pretty awesome time to be honest. I received a word from God.* The word was that God was awakening love in me. That He was cleaning out debris from the well of my Spirit; He was preparing it for a passionate response of pure love. I wrote it in my journal and was obviously excited. Then I got on with life.

This morning I was writing again and as I spoke to God I just sang “I can’t get enough“. The feeling was overwhelming that I just wanted more and more of God. I felt the prompt to look back in my journal to January and there it was. The word He sent. I hadn’t spent every day inspecting ‘the well of my spirit’ and waiting for the pure love to come. I had gotten on with my life. I had spent time with Him, read His Word, listened to His Voice. I’d spent time with those who encouraged my faith. I’d prayed and tried to love people, tried to let Him love through me. Have I been perfect? Excuse me while I simultaneously laugh hysterically and weep with sadness. No, of course not but He has been. When I failed He was there and step by step I drew closer to Him – or in reality I let Him draw closer to me; I let Him fill me more and more with that precious, indescribable (but I always try), unchanging, supernatural, spine-tingling, mind-blowing love. Is He finished clearing out? No, not while I still breathe on this earth, but has He done something miraculous in this 10 months? YES!!!!!! Absolutely, when I look back I am changed beyond belief. I hope it’s visible to those who know me well. Even if it isn’t I see it inside, I feel it and with Paul I am confident of this for me and also for you.

I am confident that the Creator, who has begun such a great work among you, will not stop in mid-design but will keep perfecting you until the day Jesus the Anointed, our Liberating King, returns to redeem the world.

Philippians 1:6

People are desperate for love. You, me, the girl next door, the man down the road, the bus driver, the driver who cuts me up in traffic, the pushy woman who queue jumps – we are all searching for love sometimes in bad places. I know the love of God. I know that love is for me. I know it is also for you, for all those people I listed. God has done this work in me for me because He loves me, but if it stops with me I have really missed the point of love.  Let’s not do that anymore.

*for those who don’t know that means God spoke to someone with a message personally for me. If you wonder why didn’t He just tell me or how was I or the messenger was sure it was from God ask in the comments or elsewhere. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Awakening Love

  1. Fresh from the furnace and burning with the fire of the Holy Spirit! What a wonderful thing to have the assurance of His love. The song just filled out the whole thing, as I listened I was thinking, ‘this is a conversation between me and my God’. Then as I read on about how we write things in our journals and they are precious; but we don’t re-read them every day. Then the time is right and as we read again those loving words from our Father’s heart, we know that He has done thee things He promised, not us. All we do is faithfully follow closely and learn from Him because He is meek and humble of heart.
    Thank you for sharing your heart Jules.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Done with Humdrum | Shiny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

