Reflections

People let you down. I don’t care who they are, how great they are, how spiritual or reliable or downright awesome: at some point they will let you down because ‘people do people stuff’. I include myself in that ‘people’ by the way.

I was examining this earlier; considering a situation that always has the power to bring me down. It results in me feeling unloving and even when I act in a loving way there’s the ulterior motive of wanting them to feel bad. Can you imagine a more ridiculous situation? So I took it to God.

Root cause – I want proof of love; this boils down to me wanting them to want them to mean what they say. Hello, have I read 1 Corinthians 13? Love has no conditions. But this human heart is frail, is faulty.

Solution? I hope you are all shouting at the screen because it’s the same solution I always have. The One who counts loves me and proved that love for me on the Cross. He continues to prove it moment by moment by living within me to make situations like this surmountable.

My eyes need to move off the situation and onto God. There I will see, experience,  know, the love He has for me. The situation doesn’t vanish, the hurt doesn’t disappear, but I look at it differently because I see it too on the Cross. I see the situation reflected in His eyes and then I can love as He intended.

Here’s 1 Corinthians 13, I pulled out a few verses that seem appropriate for this situation.

it’s (love’s) not self-absorbed.

Love isn’t easily upset. Love doesn’t tally wrongs 

Love puts up with anything and everything that comes along; it trusts, hopes, and endures no matter what.

Love will never become obsolete.

God is good, all the time. He doesn’t push me beyond what I can manage. This situation is not new, but it has caused me seemingly endless grief over many years. Now is His time to deal with it. Now His voice is speaking and pointing the way out. The good way, the best way. Will I make it all the way out and never revisit? I hope so, but I know whatever happens He is faithful and will patiently guide me.

Slow to anger and rich in love.

The Eternal is compassionate and merciful.
    When we cross all the lines, He is patient with us.
    When we struggle against Him, He lovingly stays with us—changing, convicting, prodding;

Psalm 103:8

3 thoughts on “Reflections

Leave a Reply

