Hallelujah

I get excited about things. I am very much an in- the-moment person crying with the sad movie, shouting at the bad guy, cheering on the hero. Songs, movies, books, pictures can make me laugh or cry. Yesterday the sermon I heard made me want to jump up and down and shout for joy because it was truth and life. I will say that we always have incredible teaching at our church, our pastor and leadership are good biblical fearless teachers and I am blessed to sit under their ministry.

What was so good about yesterday? Well the message was liberating. It was the true Gospel which comes to set us free. It first of all puts us in right relationship with God, no longer His enemy but adopted as His child and then continues to change us, to make us righteous, to consecrate us, to sanctify us. Note I said He changes us, the work is His and we are collaborators with Him.

I read a sentence this morning in Fervent that reiterated what I heard yesterday, the same message with which God has been bombarding me throughout this year.

It will be God Himself building up strength at your core, enabling you by His resurrection power to passionately pursue righteousness.

Fervent p 128

You see it? God is doing the work; it is His delight to perfect me. The whole point of the Old Covenant and the New Covenant is to make me into the person He created me to be; the righteous child, servant, slave whom He loves with a love beyond measure.

He did it ALL. My life is now the process of my allowing – dear God that word allow humbles me, breaks me: that GOD should ‘allow’ me to have a say in what He wants to accomplish – His power to do the work it is intended to do. He intends first to change me moment by moment into the righteousness of Christ and then, springing directly from that, to see the world around me redeemed and sanctified in exactly the same way as I live as the righteous child He called me to be.

I am tearing my hair out because my words cannot fully express what I am feeling, what I am knowing more day by day. I pray His power touches you as it is touching me. I pray He reveals His truth to you more and more so that together we can run this race free from fear, rejoicing and glorifying our majestic merciful gracious King and God. He has done it all.

30 Instead, credit God with your new situation: you are united with Jesus the Anointed. He is God’s wisdom for us and more. He is our righteousness and holiness and redemption.

1 Corinthians 1:30

3 thoughts on “Hallelujah

  1. Pingback: Just to be Clear | Shiny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

