Fame?

I love watching talent shows: AGT, BGT, X-Factor, American Idol, The Voice. I consider myself the supreme judge so I like it when the actual judges agree with me and I pooh pooh it when they don’t. I assume they have gone deaf or lost all sense. I do wonder sometimes why people enter these things. There are some people who have an outstanding talent; they are just wonderful. But other times I have to wonder if they have no friends who would say gently ‘Sweety you just can’t sing/dance.’ or why parents continue to encourage a child with zero talent? But the truth is the ultimate choice is the contestants’. They decide to put themselves in for audition and to hope for fame.

I suspect we all like a bit of fame. Yeah we might duck our heads, mutter ‘Aw shucks’ but deep down we like to be recognised, acknowledged or found worthy. I know I do.

12 For whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Matthew 23:12

This is how the message puts it.

11-12 “Do you want to stand out? Then step down. Be a servant. If you puff yourself up, you’ll get the wind knocked out of you. But if you’re content to simply be yourself, your life will count for plenty.

Matthew 23:11-12

I think this comes back to believing and trusting that God is good. He made me. He saved me. He called me, chose me. He is working on and with me. I don’t need to strive to push myself forward or struggle to stand out. I am not a face in a crowd to Him; I am His daughter. But so is the person next to me and if I push myself forward I am pushing them back. If I want to look better than everyone else then I am making everyone else look worse than me which is what Jesus was criticising the Pharisees for in this chapter.

God wants the crowd of us to all shine like stars, to all win the race, to all receive the prize. There’s no-one in the race against me, we are all running our own races alongside each other. We ought to be cheering each other on, passing each other drinks, offering a helping hand. In the end I am not looking for the approval or fame given by man but what is given by God.

The song says Fame, I’m going to live forever – because I am famous people will remember my name. My life and attitude needs to say: Fame? No thanks. I am going to live forever because I remembered His name.

2 thoughts on “Fame?

Leave a Reply

