Happy Thanksgiving

Yes, this weekend we in the True North give thanks for all we have. Springing from a harvest festival we celebrate with good food and family. The day is actually tomorrow but because of work and travel and such it spreads over the weekend.

There’s a picture you might have seen that asks “what if tomorrow you woke up with only the things you gave thanks for today?” A sobering thought don’t you think? Just looking around the den where I am writing I can see so many things I take for granted. Giving thanks for them never crosses my mind. The keyboard I am using, the pen and paper I jot notes on, the chair I sit at the screens… Need I go on? Those are just physical things I daren’t even start with emotional or spiritual.

The question is both ridiculous and on point. God doesn’t require me to stop and think about each thing I have or use, each breath or heartbeat, each movement or thought. But He would like me to be thankful. I think being thankful is a state of mind. I think the being thankful state of mind produces joy and explains how people in dire situations can still have the joy of the Lord as their strength. There is a time for giving specific thanks, the Holy Spirit knows when it is and will stir me to that prayer.

It’s a glorious thing to count my blessings; to see how the goodness of God is being shown in my life. There’s also that attitude of thankfulness that produces joy and also produces generosity because I don’t hold on tightly to the things God has given me. It seems to me that it also ties into not being worried about things. If I am thankful for what God has given then my mind is fixed on His giving and that both stops me fixing on what I don’t have and reassures me that He is good and will give what is needed.

So today count I am going to count my blessings. I am going to seek that place of thankfulness and I am going to make a permanent home there rather than a holiday cottage.

15 Let your hearts fall under the rule of the Anointed’s peace (the peace you were called to as one body), and be thankful.

Colossians 3:15

Whatever your nationality I pray God’s blessings on you and that you recognise and be thankful for them.

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Amen to that! What a beautiful sentiment and truth on this special day for Canada. It’s a special day for us all. The Day that the Lord has made and it is surely a good thing to give thanks on each of these days that He gives us.
    Have a wonderfully thankful day Jules.

    Like

Leave a Reply

