Suspicious Minds

There’s a song running through my head right now, I am sure when you read the title you hear it too. I hear Elvis singing it. I guess it will depend on your age who you hear. Like a lot of songs the lyrics are actually a bit profound. Love can’t exist with suspicion but when you love someone you can’t let go. So we end up ‘caught in a trap’. Love requires trust – simple fact.

I read something this morning that struck me hard.

The root of all sin is the suspicion that God is not good.

Oswald Chambers

It made me think and the more I thought the more I realised it was true.

I lust for something I can’t have. Why? Because deep down I allow the thought that God doesn’t really know what is best for me.

I lie about something in my life? Why? Because somewhere inside me I am ashamed of who/what I am and don’t really trust that I am forgiven or in the process of being redeemed by Him.

I get angry and rant and rave. Why? Because I think my control of a situation is better than God’s.

I could go on. Every time I fail, fall, miss the mark somewhere there’s a root that says God isn’t good, He doesn’t care. He hasn’t really got plans and purposes for me. It’s not a conscious process; I am not aware that’s the root cause but it is. Why did Eve take the fruit? Because the serpent said God’s keeping something from you with the insinuation that God wasn’t good but was being selfish. Why did Cain kill Abel? Because God corrected Him and instead of seeing the love and goodness involved in that Cain got jealous of His brother and killed him.

Think about it for yourselves. I think you will come to the same conclusion. So what do I do about it? First I remember all those verses in the Bible where it says He is good; where it says His goodness is everlasting. Then I look at my life and see the goodness there. I see the times His hand has been for me. Then I resolve to keep His goodness in mind all the time and that involves keeping Him in mind all the time.  That brings me to this verse, to the place I have arrived at many times:

Do not allow this world to mold you in its own image. Instead, be transformed from the inside out by renewing your mind. As a result, you will be able to discern what God wills and whatever God finds good, pleasing, and complete.

Romans 12:2

God is good. He is patient too because time after time He brings be back to this thought. I am changing, I have changed, I have more changing to undergo. But He is always always without question or debate GOOD.

One thought on “Suspicious Minds

Leave a Reply

