Need to Win

I’m currently trying really hard not to get into an internet argument, or as I like to call it the ‘chocolate teapot’ competition. Both are equally useless. I have been wondering recently, especially as I have another real life issue that refuses to let me be, why it is I feel like I need to win. I sometimes feel the intense need to be victorious in situations where I fell ‘wronged’, in situations where I feel others are wrong and I know better. It’s hard work being right all the time. It’s also unloving.

Make no plans that could result in injury to your neighbor;
    after all, he should be more secure because he lives near you.

Proverbs 3:29

Isn’t that the truth on so many levels? My neighbours in the houses next door, my neighbours in the community, my neighbours in my area, city, nation, world ought to be better because I am here rather than have me in competition with them. Someone I love has called me to be the salt of the earth and light of the world. Light and salt are hardly striving to win, to come out on top. They just do their jobs and are.

I touched on this yesterday I think, God bears the weight of situations and circumstances so I don’t have to. Mainly because I can’t without becoming completely uselessly obsessed with things I can neither control nor change.

My neighbours life should be blessed, secure because I am there either physically, virtually or spiritually.

22 The Holy Spirit produces a different kind of fruit: unconditional love, joy, peace, patience, kindheartedness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, and self-control. You won’t find any law opposed to fruit like this. 24 Those of us who belong to the Anointed One have crucified our old lives and put to death the flesh and all the lusts and desires that plague us.

25 Now since we have chosen to walk with the Spirit, let’s keep each step in perfect sync with God’s Spirit. 26 This will happen when we set aside our self-interests and work together to create true community instead of a culture consumed by provocation, pride, and envy.

Galatians 5:22-26

I don’t need to win. All I do need has been, is and will be provided by the God who loves me. Game over.

One thought on “Need to Win

Leave a Reply

