At Your Service

These are the verses I started with yesterday but I ended up in a different place. However they are still on my heart so I am trying again.

I raise my eyes to fix my gaze on You,
    for Your throne resides in the heavens.
Just as the eyes of servants
    closely watch the hand of their masters,
Just as a maid carefully observes
    the slightest gesture of her mistress,
In the same way we look to You, Eternal One,
    waiting for our God to pour out His mercy upon us.

Psalm 123:1-2

We don’t have servants very often, the closest might be a waiter/ress in a restaurant who watches carefully to see when our glass or cup is empty, ready to take away finished plates, eager to see if we need anything extra. Admittedly they are working and keen attention has the hope of a good tip. But the best servers show care about their customers and their reputation and show it in the attention they give. But even this is not like the servants the psalmist spoke of. I think about Nehemiah who was the food taster for the king. He had relationship with his king such that the king noticed when Nehemiah was depressed. The servants in Joseph prison also had relationship with the Pharaoh. If you watch period TV shows there’s often a close relationship between master and servant based on mutual care and concern.

This is what the psalmist speaks of. The utter devotion of the servant to their master. They know that all they have depends on him, they know he has many things to consider and perform and they desire nothing more than to make his life easier. They can interpret the slightest gesture because of their familiarity and so move to smoothly perform their duties.

God needs nothing from me. He doesn’t need a cup refilling or a plate of food or His clothes setting out. But He does require my devotion. These verses are humbling. The blessings I receive are His largesse, His to give or withhold. I have no right to them but I need them, eagerly await them. As I said yesterday I too often forget that. I wait for them to come as if they are my right when in fact I ought to be watching God for whatever He requires of me. Listening to Him, looking for the smallest gesture or word that says – pray for this one, give to that one, love is needed there, joy needs to break out in here or whatever He asks.

My focus really ought to be on serving Him rather than, as it does sometimes end up – waiting for Him to serve me.

Forgive me Lord.

3 thoughts on “At Your Service

  1. Oh Lord how sadly short of this devotion I fall. You humble me as I come face to face with Your design and see the lack in me, and hence the perfection of Your grace toward me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

