Taken at His Word.

Why is it hard to get out of bed on dark mornings? It’s the same time. I have been asleep for the same amount of time. The night didn’t get shorter to deprive me of those snoozey hours. So why is it so much harder to get up when it’s dark outside?

I am sure there’s some scientific reason, some matter of adaptation that makes me want daylight to function. Some anthropological imperative to stay safe in the dark and move in the light. Wow that’s a whole other blog! *hasty scribbles* My thought today, my thanks this morning is that even though I am affected by the change in sunrise, God isn’t. He doesn’t change depending on the season, or how late He was up, or if He feels under the weather.

  God is not a man—He doesn’t lie.
        God isn’t the son of a man to want to take back what He’s said,
    Or say something and not follow through,
        or speak and not act on it.

Numbers 23:19

That’s reassuring in a world where a person’s word means very little. Commitments are made and broken on what seems like a whim.

17 Every good gift bestowed, every perfect gift received comes to us from above, courtesy of the Father of lights. He is consistent. He won’t change His mind or play tricks in the shadows.

James 1:17

No tricks, no teasing, no carrot and stick or honey trail. God says what is and it is.

Don’t you know? Haven’t you heard?
    The Eternal, the Everlasting God,
The Creator of the whole world, never gets tired or weary.
    His wisdom is beyond understanding.

Isaiah 40:28

Even, or specially, when we don’t understand we can trust Him to be faithful, just and loving as He has always been.

God news that He doesn’t stop loving me, blessing me, speaking to me because I struggle with getting out of bed. Good news that my performance is not the basis of our relationship. Good news that actually makes me want to get out of bed even though it’s hard sometimes. Good news that He is with me in bed or out, it’s just easier to listen when I am upright and in less danger of snoozing. Best of all I don’t get brownie points or lose them because of what I do or don’t do. He’s not mad if I linger an extra minute or hour. He doesn’t love me more if I bounce out as soon as the alarm goes off. No performance related pay and benefits here.

Good news that I can take Him exactly at His Word.

Leave a Reply

