Never Gets Old

Eternal One: I punished you because I was furious with you,
        reduced you to little on account of your persistent wrongdoing;
    But I will restore you, reclaim you, and rebuild you because I cannot help but love you.

Isaiah 60:10

There are people who will say that God can’t possibly intend to send people to hell because no loving father could treat His children that way. In fact I read a blog last week that went along those lines. It basically said that we can believe whatever makes us feel good about God because we know how we love our children and forgive them and want to give them everything and He must be the same. They might even quote a verse like the one above, or a fragment of it, in support of that view. Unfortunately this is not true. It is true that God loves us with an extravagant incredible love but where I spend eternity is my choice. I am not sent anywhere. I choose to accept the free gift of eternal life and all that involves or I choose not to. If anyone wishes to discuss that please comment below.

What never gets old is the love. God is love. He is perfect love, He is eternal love. If I have written about this once I have written 50 times. If I have wept with the joy of it once I have wept a thousand times (cos blog only been 6 monthish in existence). In this verse God is speaking through Isaiah to His people in exile. They rebelled, they rejected His covenant and now in exile they are suffering and He looks down and has mercy because He cannot help but love. He gives them another chance.

22 How enduring is God’s loyal love;
    the Eternal has inexhaustible compassion.
23 Here they are, every morning, new!
    Your faithfulness, God, is as broad as the day.

Lamentations 3:22-23

He gave me another chance, and daily I get the opportunity to live for Him. I get to experience the presence of Holy Spirit living in me, guiding me, advising me, leading me. I get to grow more like Jesus. I get to be that visible sign of God’s love to the world and all in it.  That never grows old, that never gets boring because just like His mercy is new every morning so are the opportunities to live an abundant life. Abundant means plentiful, overflowing, more than adequate, richly supplied with resources. That’s the life I live because He loves me. If I choose to reject that love, if I think I can live a better way then God is not going to force me no matter how much He loves me. Then I deal with the consequences.

It never gets old because it shouldv’e been me.

2 thoughts on “Never Gets Old

Leave a Reply

