Rejoicers

I am all about the joy. For me I can’t love without joy, without that knowledge inside that whatever comes God has me in His hand. It’s that joy that springs out to want urgently to share that love with others. I just started Philippians and the letter has such a sweetness. Paul is really connected with the people he is writing to, there’s just something between them that is special.

Whenever you cross my mind, I thank my God for you and for the gift of knowing you. My spirit is lightened with joy whenever I pray for you (and I do constantly)

Philippians 1:3-4

Isn’t that the way sometimes with us? We are called to love everyone but sometimes there’s just something special about someone that rings like a bell in your head. There’s a recognition of a kindred spirit, a heart that matches your own. It’s not beauty or eloquence or that they are perfect in any way. It’s more that in some way you fit together in a way you don’t with everyone.

Now don’t get me wrong, we are most definitely called to love everyone and not to form cliques where we exclude people and buddy up with those ‘special’ ones. In fact the connection between us ought to include others because we spur each other on to love more, to be more joyful, to be more like the Jesus we follow. But God knows us, He made us and like David and Jonathan we form close friendships.

God has been good to me, He has brought me people who make my heart glad because we share the same vision, the same desire for more of God. I don’t think it’s something I put into words (apart from here), nor something obvious in the way I behave. Any blessing from God ought to make me more loving to all His children. The connection is that I know they are praying for me as I am praying for them and that knowledge brings joy.  These connections ought to build the body of Christ, the church because they are designed to draw us closer to each other and closer to Him.

Here’s what I pray for you:

Father, may their love grow more and more in wisdom and insight— 10 so they will be able to examine and determine the best from everything else. And on the day of the Anointed One, the day of His judgment, let them stand pure and blameless, 11 filled with the fruit of righteousness that ripens through Jesus the Anointed.

All this I pray, with a view to God’s ultimate praise and glory.

Philippians 1:9-10

Leave a Reply

