Carpe Diem

I think I’ve said before, I love words. Procrastination is one I’ve loved since I was about 15 and studying latin (yes be impressed be very impressed 😉 ). It means to put off til tomorrow. Procrastination is the thief of time intoned my teacher. Actually, I’ve gone a bit too far there, she was a lovely nun who brooked no-nonsense but never intoned in her life. She gifted us with that phrase and boy is it true. Never put off til tomorrow what you can do today is definitely not one of my mottos. I would more often than not put off til tomorrow many things, especially if something more interesting or entertaining presents itself. I doubt I am alone in that choice; the only difference is our interpretation of interesting and entertaining – I know people who actually like housework….

Joshua (to the remaining Israelites):How much more time do you intend to waste before going to claim the land the Eternal God of your ancestors is giving to you?

Joshua 18:3

7 of the 12 tribes of Israel had not claimed their part of the land when Joshua says this. That’s more than half, and considering 2 and a half tribes had their land on the other side of the Jordan that means only 2 and a half had claimed land.  It wasn’t even that they had to fight for it, all the fighting had been done (for now), they just needed to divide it up. If it were me I think I’d have been an eager beaver wanting my share. After wandering the wilderness until my parents died, then having to clear the land of enemies I’d be looking forward to putting down some roots and reaping the benefit of the land of milk and honey. Build a house, buy some sheep, have some kids.

But then God reminded me that I haven’t claimed all the land He has given me either, not physical land but spiritual. Gifts, callings, blessings He has for me that I haven’t made mine. That lie fallow because maybe I am too entertained and interested by other things. What kind of things? The Bible is full of things God has promised, things He has given, things He has established for me.

The Spirit of the Lord, the Eternal, is on me.
    The Lord has appointed me for a special purpose.
He has anointed me to bring good news to the poor.
    He has sent me to repair broken hearts,
And to declare to those who are held captive and bound in prison,
    “Be free from your imprisonment!”

Isaiah 61:1

Hmmm.

22 The Holy Spirit produces a different kind of fruit: unconditional love, joy, peace, patience, kindheartedness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, and self-control. You won’t find any law opposed to fruit like this.

Galatians 5:22-23

Hmmmm.

And you, beloved, are the light of the world. A city built on a hilltop cannot be hidden.

Matthew 5:14

Hmmmmmmm.

I think that’s enough for today. If I had properly claimed even one of those scriptures; built that house, settled on the land not to be moved my life would be very different. The lives of those around me would be different too. I’m not on a ‘pity party I am such a failure’ ride. God has done some spectacular work in my life up til now, but there’s no time to be complacent, no time to procrastinate. Not if I really want to be the vibrant,  effective daughter of God that I believe He has called me to be.

Carpe diem – seize the day, seize those promises, live the abundant, full life.

Leave a Reply

