Right

I love words, I love knowing what they mean, I love knowing where they came from. I love being able to identify the roots and work out the meaning of new words . The game Free Rice is the best thing ever because I get to exercise and grow my vocabulary and feed the hungry. I also love plays on words, those puns that can be extremely annoying but are actually pretty clever. Like my title is it right and left, right and wrong or badly spelled write? See it’s fascinating the way language works!

I wrote briefly about Psalm 51 the other week but am going to explore it a little more now. The title might well have given the verse away.

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God,

and renew a right spirit within me.

Psalm 51:10 AKJV

Renew a right spirit: I think we can assume no misspelling and my soul isn’t writing (except here), I also think we can discount right as opposed to left. So that leaves right and wrong. Obviously.

God, make a fresh start in me,
    shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life.

Psalm 51:10 The Message

! That takes some thought. A Genesis week being a creative week? A completely new start rubbed out and drawn afresh.

10 Create in me a new, clean heart, O God, filled with clean thoughts and right desires.

Psalm 51:10 The Living Bible

That’s plainer I think, clean, new, shiny and pure.

Create in me a clean heart, O God;
    restore within me a sense of being brand new.

Psalm 51:10 The Voice

Brand new … we get second chance from people but how hard is it to truly forget and really act as if the past didn’t happen? I know it is what we aspire to but really and honestly I can’t do it 24/7.

God can.

Brand new cars are awesome. Sleek, shiny, perfect until the first ding, first scuff, first dirty mark and then it’s not brand new any more and our hearts sigh. I have clothes that I love and save for special occasions not because they are extra fancy but because I don’t want to spoil them. So they end up at the back of my closet and I never get real wear or enjoyment out of them because I am afraid. God can make me brand new every day. A completely fresh start every day. Blank pure pristine white page in a new book, not just a turned over page.

A humble person who fears the Eternal
    can expect to receive wealth, honour, and life.

Proverbs 22:4

When I walk with that new heart, clean and pure. When I pray for His Spirit to guide and guard me, seeking always to be willing to please Him then I can expect my life to be filled with good things from Him. He is more valuable than gold or silver, His approval is all the honour I need and I have life abundantly.

Right on!

Leave a Reply

