Questions

I have a lot today, well to be truthful I always have a lot of questions. If you ask those who know me sometimes I ask the same question over and over because a) I didn’t listen properly to the answer or b) I forgot because my brain is on the fritz. But I like to know things. I like to understand how and why and when and who and sometimes even where. The game Trivial Pursuits (and others of that ilk) are a joy to me. I also like explaining things, teaching, answering questions (unless I’m reading ;)). Basically I’m of the opinion that there is no stupid question except the unasked one (unless you are trying to be annoying and deliberately asking stupid questions).

Anyway I have a series of questions today concerning prayer. If you have any more questions, or thoughts or answers or insights please add them in the comments. We are in this together my friends 🙂

So I have promises from God, not only the general ones we all share but ones I feel He has spoken specifically to me. Scripture says:

6 Don’t be anxious about things; instead, pray. Pray about everything. He longs to hear your requests, so talk to God about your needs and be thankful for what has come.

Philippians 4:6

But once I have done that how many times do I keep bringing the same requests to Him? How do I go about reminding Him of these promises? How do I not sound like a spoiled child whining for things but rather a faithful child, patient and trusting? How do I separate my needs from my wants? See lots of questions. Let’s look at a few more closely.

God already knows everything, He knows what I need so why do I need to tell Him? I think I have this one clear. He’s my Father, even earthly parents who are but a pale reflection of the True Father want their children to talk to them, to share and trust. It’s a pleasure to me as a mother to give things to my children as a surprise but it’s also a pleasure to have them come and ask me, to rely on me. Their asking demonstrates that they know and understand I love them and have good things for them. So my asking God shows I trust Him and know His love for me.

Once I have asked shouldn’t I trust God rather than praying over and over? This is harder for me so I welcome your insights. How many times is too many to ask God? If every day I am on my knees pleading with Him for the answer to a need am I displaying a lack of faith? Or am I showing just how desperately I need and trust Him?

Isn’t it presumption to thank God for what I haven’t received yet? I think about the ‘name it and claim it’ idea and don’t ever want to be in the camp where I presume God will just give me whatever I demand. But doesn’t God want us to demonstrate our faith in His Word? If He has said it then He will do it.

How do I remind God of His promises? Not that I think He has forgotten, or maybe I do. I think there’s biblical support for doing this, for reminding God of what He has said – or maybe reminding ourselves.

Writing this I think there’s fear in me. Fear that if I don’t do it right He won’t answer me. Fear that His blessing depends on me being good enough. That’s quite a revelation and something I need to pray about. The crux here is that I will pray to develop faith in His goodness every minute of the day because I know He has to change me… so why do I struggle with having faith He will provide all I need, all He has promised?

Now Jesus returns to prayer, an important and sometimes difficult topic. Here He gives the very essence of prayer.

7 Just ask and it will be given to you; seek after it and you will find. Continue to knock and the door will be opened for you. 8 All who ask receive. Those who seek, find what they seek. And he who knocks, will have the door opened.

9 Think of it this way: if your son asked you for bread, would you give him a stone? Of course not—you would give him a loaf of bread. 10 If your son asked for a fish, would you give him a snake? No, to be sure, you would give him a fish—the best fish you could find. 11 So if you, who are sinful, know how to give your children good gifts, how much more so does your Father in heaven, who is perfect, know how to give great gifts to His children!

Matthew 7:7-11

16 My dearly loved brothers and sisters, don’t be misled. 17 Every good gift bestowed, every perfect gift received comes to us from above, courtesy of the Father of lights. He is consistent. He won’t change His mind or play tricks in the shadows. 18 We have a special role in His plan. He calls us to life by His message of truth so that we will show the rest of His creatures His goodness and love.

James 1:16-18

5 thoughts on “Questions

  1. I have a lot of questions regarding prayer… It has been taught me that prayer is when you go into a room and close the door and get on your knees and start talking. Yet, while I’m not opposed to this, I do wonder whether this is truly what prayer is supposed to be? People say that we pray so that God can change us, because it isn’t about us changing God… Yet, I can’t help but wonder, if this is a relationship, then why is it about me talking to God, feeling goofy because there isn’t an audible answer, and then getting up and walking away? Wouldn’t that be weird if a friend were to talk to you like that? (I’ll insert my own name) “Hey, Tommy, I just, Tommy, wanted to, just, thank you, Tommy, because, like, Tommy, you have always, just, like, been there for me, Tommy.” Totally seems awkward lol. The whole thing seems rather fishy to me, and I’m not sure what the biblical alternative is…

    Like

    • I don’t think prayer is just me talking to God. I think sometimes we make it that but at it’s purest, most perfect it is a conversation where we listen as much if not more than we speak.
      As for being in a room on my knees I definitely don’t agree there, all day, anywhere, in any position is my aim 🙂 There is a time for private devoted time but it is a relationship not a ritual I think.

      Like

      • I wouldn’t be at all surprised It just seems that biblically speaking we do have directions for how to pray, and reasons why as well. All of us need a good teacher as well as our personal relationship with the Lord. Most of all we need to know our Bible. The Psalms are a deep well of prayer and guidance in using it. Our Lord’s earthly life is a treasure trove of example to us. The Lord’s Prayer is a wonderful tool for teaching as well as reciting. There is a dearth of teachers but lots of written material as well as Scriptures. Remember, Jesus went away on His own at night, all night, to pray. If He needed to be with His Father so regularly, it seems probable that we do too. Thanks Jules for sharing this. Maybe together we can all grow in prayer.

        Like

Leave a Reply

