United

So yesterday was a bit of a bare all. Thank you to those who read and prayed for me. God and I had some quality time this morning where we talked and began the process of damming and redirecting the water. It got me thinking though about why I was able, or would even want, to share the way I did.

As people who are united with Jesus, the Anointed One, you have been set apart for service. You are all called into community to live as saints with all who invoke the name of our Lord Jesus, the Anointed

1 Corinthians 1:2

Paul is talking to the church at Corinth here but the letters were included in the Canon of Scripture because they speak to us all. What does Paul say? United in Christ. Called into community. We are one. I was just speaking to a friend who can’t be in our prayer meeting today; we decided she can pray where she is (in a car driving) and we will be united in Spirit. United by the Spirit. the Holy Spirit who is the omnipresent, omniscient God we worship.

That unity is why I have to be transparent, the Bible calls us the body of Christ. We are all connected. If my big toe hurts then the rest of me feels it every time I take a step. If I get an infection and don’t treat it so that the spot starts to get nasty then the rest of my body is in trouble. It’s the same here. If I am hurting the body hurts and I need to ask it to take care of me. If I hide my ‘infection’ my troubles, then I am heading for disaster and maybe taking some of you with me and at best leaving a raw wound that will hurt you.

I wonder why we don’t see this more clearly, why I don’t? From the very beginning God told His chosen ones stick together and avoid people, things, places that would infect them. To be part of His chosen people they had to be clean, clean, clean and there were strict rules about maintaining that cleanliness. The touch of an unclean person had dire results for the rest of the clan. Now we are cleansed by Jesus, made holy by His sacrifice but we need to maintain that cleanliness because we are a body and what affects one will eventually affect all. But we aren’t in this alone. First we have the indwelling Spirit who supports, guides, instructs us. Second, coming directly from that we have each other.

34-35 “Let me give you a new command: Love one another. In the same way I loved you, you love one another. This is how everyone will recognize that you are my disciples—when they see the love you have for each other.”

John 13:34-35

Accountability so that we can ask – in love – how’s it going, what about ‘such a thing’? How’s ‘this’ in your life. In fact we ought to ask because we love each other because your pain is my pain, your hurt is my hurt.

The Romans were said to exclaim: “See how they love one another.” Wouldn’t it be amazing if that was what they exclaimed now about us rather than mocking our divisions, our failings and our hypocrisy?

Leave a Reply

