Hush

It’s been an intense week here in my thoughts as well as here in my life. The last two mornings have been full of distractions as I sat and read and tried to listen and it felt a bit like a battle dragging myself back only to skitter away, hopping from thought to thought. But God is good and patient. I don’t feel guilty; it’s more a hunger because I know I need that time and long to hear His voice. So Lamentations 3:26 could have been a bit of a slap in the face except I had just resorted to calming my mind by singing the Lord is gracious and compassionate which is taken from the preceding verses. So when I opened the chapter and read them my heart skipped and verse 26 resonated.

it is good to wait quietly
    for the salvation of the Lord.

Lamentations 3:26

It is good to wait quietly, to linger, to expect and not leave until it happens. There’s apparently a quiet revolution going on. Learning to value those who aren’t as forceful and pushy, those who “tend to enjoy quiet concentration, listen more than they talk, and think before they speak”. That rings a few bells with James 1:19 and my own aspirations. But I digress again. This beautiful verse from Lamentations was still in my head as I read Psalm 23 and I couldn’t get past the first 3 verses because God was singing a song over my heart, His Spirit refreshing and relaxing and reassuring me.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
    for his name’s sake.

Psalm 23: 1-3

Read those words, let His voice lead you where I can’t.

He provides me rest in rich, green fields
    beside streams of refreshing water.
    He soothes my fears;

Psalm 23: 2 The Voice

I listened to a yoga instructor teaching a class the other night, they were seeking peace, balance, calm; it is spirituality disguised as exercise. This is a better way, listen to His voice, His words and let Him bring wholeness – He is quite clear about what He offers and who He is, no subterfuge.

He makes me whole again,
    steering me off worn, hard paths
    to roads where truth and righteousness echo His name.

Psalm 23:3 The Voice

I’d started my time this morning writing in my journal how great God is and how I needed to be more diligent. He smiled and agreed yes, He is indeed great but said all I needed to do was let Him be great.

2 thoughts on “Hush

Leave a Reply

