Count Your Blessings

Sunday again!

Time to meet with my church family in the midst of busy summers.

Time to gather together and worship in one accord.

Time to remember the wonderful priceless gift of Jesus.

Time to give thanks!

Health, home, comfort, food, clothes, furniture, coffee, silence, music, books, internet, tv, shower, bath, bed, sheets, quilt, shoes, pavement, umbrella, flowers, garden, patio, table, cutlery, pillows, carpet, flooring, photographs, pictures, phone, toothpaste, soap, dishwasher, toilet, spectacles, perfume, paper, pencil, bible, nail file, socks, fan, chair, lights, door, blinds.

Just a few of the many things we have to be thankful for. Go through the list and think about each one and how different your life would be without it. I can’t remember when the last time I thought seriously about counting my blessings beyond a good sermon, or a kind word or God’s voice speaking to me. Those things are vital absolutely, but in terms of what most of us (I think most of you reading come from the western world where these things are standard) have and experience we have a lot lot more to thank God for. Do I think everytime I lift my cup and sip my delicious coffee I ought to stop and say a prayer of thanks? Not necessarily – I won’t say no because God teaches us in His own way and if He were to ask me to do that then He would have a good reason – but I certainly ought to not take it for granted, as if it were some sort of divine right that I sit in a comfy chair and have good hot coffee and an entertaining book.

I think counting my blessings, being grateful to God more consciously would lead to a lifestyle of worship. If every step I took on smooth flooring, every taste of good food, every smile from pleasant neighbours, every brush of clean, decent clothing, every ride in a car, every drink of pure water reminded me of God’s provision then I would live a different life. I walk around oblivious to the fact that I am supremely privileged in every single aspect of my life. I might not have a 12,000 ft mansion, helicopter and staff but I have so very much more than the majority of the world.

I give thanks for my salvation every day and if that were all God had provided for me then that alone would deserve a lifetime of praise. But His provision goes so far beyond that, so very far that His praise should ever be on my lips. I can’t quite put into words how I think this shift in thinking would – will – change me. Maybe if I can get to grips with is, start to live it I can share more. I just know it’s what God is saying to me now.

Count your blessings.

Know that everything comes from Him.

Live a life of thankfulness not entitlement.

Be as generous to others as He is to you in every aspect of your life.

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

2 thoughts on “Count Your Blessings

  1. Pingback: Prey or Pray | Shiny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

