Ever be on my lips

It’s been a musical kind of week here in my thoughts. The truth is most days are musical, I always have a song in my head and often on my lips but this week I shared some with you. I love music: to sing, to hum, to whistle and just to listen it delights my soul. It’s also helps with memory – there’s a reason we teach kids to sing the alphabet when they are learning it. This young lady made up a song to remember all the presidents of the USA.. Often scriptures I remember are linked with songs, Psalm 9 this morning the first verses were a chorus in my head as I read them.

 Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.

Colossians 3:16

God wants us to be full of songs too, inspired by His word, other people’s words and the Holy Spirit. These songs are for teaching and admonishing – correcting and encouraging. They build us together as one body under One Lord, guided by One Spirit. Or should.

Funny thing about music, we all have our own ‘taste’ – what we like and there’s not much can cause division as quickly as a change in worship style, change in instrumentation, change in tempo. There’s an old story about a church where the pastor wanted to move the piano across the room and there was uproar. So week by week he moved it one inch… Urban legend perhaps but the message stands. Worship belongs to God, our praise belongs to Him. He inspires and we receive and give back to Him.

Just as an aside we ought to pray hard for our worship leaders and team. They have an awesome privilege to lead us but also a huge responsibility to lead us. It’s not their job to pump us up so we can enter His presence, in truth we ought to be already in His presence, but their job is to be sensitive to the moving of the Holy Spirit, having communed with Him all week so on Sunday morning, or evening or mid week they are ready to gather us together and lead the way into His glory. If we don’t like how they do it then we should tell God (not each other) and pray.

But these verses are talking about daily life. That should be filled with His music too. The previous verse says we are called to peace, I don’t know about you but it’s hard for me to get cross when my mind is full of glorious worship. My words are much more gracious and meaningful when they are inspired by scripture that is ringing in my head as clear as a bell. The refrain of a pop song can drive you insane but the psalms drive you to worship and gratitude to a wonderful God.

So as I learn my weekly verses I am going to try to sing them, there’s already a rhythm that helps me learn longer verses. When I get my reminders to pause and seek God through the day I am going to try to have a song on my lips to soak longer.

By the way your thoughts on my thoughts are always welcome – it would be wonderful to know who is out there 🙂

One thought on “Ever be on my lips

  1. My head is always full of music, and I LOVE when i wake up to a worship song… I know it’s gotten deep into my soul.

    And I’ve put lots of scripture to music while I try to memorize it — it works so well!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

