Pleasant

Anyone need to be reminded to have a drink today or to eat? I can honestly say I never need reminding to do those things, nor to sleep or sit down and relax. I need to do all those things to keep my body and mind healthy and functioning. However, we recently had family visiting from the UK and by the end I felt as if I never wanted to even enter another restaurant in my life. We ate out so much because we were busy about doing things away from home. Did I want to stop eating altogether? No, but I just wanted to be home, where food is familiar and comfortable and plain. (I feel the desperate need to defend my cooking – I am a good cook, it’s more the environment and such than the quality of the cuisine :P) Similar thing with drinks, sometimes I just want a cool glass of water, plain, simple but so satisfying.

I was talking about prayer yesterday and this morning as I read this verse spoke to me.

There is nothing more satisfying than to be in His presence. Life would be so much easier if I could just stay in my room, or in church or somewhere that I can just concentrate on Him. But life isn’t like that and as I said yesterday I need to have that contact with Him, that sense of His presence wherever and whenever I am. This verse encouraged me immensely. I love to worship, I love that feeling of His Holy Spirit moving with power and grace to touch me and those around me. I love the enthusiasm and vigour of corporate worship, the intimacy when a few hearts are united in purpose. But that’s a bit like eating out. I can’t do it all the time. But that’s good news.

The psalmist says it is pleasant to praise Him. Pleasant is a comfortable word, it’s a good word but not one that has high impact. It’s something you can fit in to every day life moment by moment. It’s like a pair of comfortable well-worn shoes, or a jumper you have had for years that fits perfectly, or a cool drink on a hot day. It isn’t earth shattering but it satisfies. There is time for the high, the oomph, the spine tingling worship that delights my soul, but I need the comfortable, the pleasant presence of God walking beside me. The quiet conversation amid the hustle and bustle of life. I need the rest and sense that He is always there.

I’m not decrying the power times, the moments when God wows me. But in between I am sustained, refreshed, satisfied by the pleasant worship, the walking worship where first His steps go alongside me but as we walk more and more my steps fall in with His. There are life changing moments, times when something in me is transformed in an instant but the majority of the changes He makes in me come day by day as I walk like this.

When I read the rest of the psalm, read about His majesty and power then His grace and mercy overwhelm me. The Creator of all things limits Himself to be accessible to me and continues to reveal Himself slowly and steadily (with bursts of glory) so that I am able to love Him.

3 thoughts on “Pleasant

  1. Wow – this is great 🙂

    I’ve never really thought about it before but “pleasant” always felt like the wrong word here – it seems like it should be something much more grandiose when talking about God.

    But the simplicity of the word is deliberate – the lovely simple comfortable feeling of being in His presence all day.

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

