Well Seasoned

I am a huge fan of black pepper, in a restaurant when the server asks would I like freshly ground pepper my answer is always yes and I always tell them to stop before I really want them to because I love black pepper. When my daughter makes egg or tuna mayo sandwiches, we know which are ours because of the visible black speckling. You get the picture. Salt, on the other hand, is something I rarely add to a meal once food is cooked – but if it were omitted from prep or over used a meal would be ruined. Ok, being honest, most people would consider my volume of pepper ruinous too.

Speaking of seasoning

Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.

Colossians 4:6

I was praying this morning for my conversations, my encounters today to be seasoned with grace and mercy. We live in a challenging world, too often full of confrontations and aggression and my response to those situations is always observed. I am called to share the good news and that starts even before I mention the name of Jesus. It starts when people hear my voice, see my attitude, experience my character. I can talk about my salvation with the most eloquent words but if they see me living just as they do what’s the point? My words and my life have to match up, or, as we all fail, they should see my intent. They have to see there is a change in me, something that my words then explain.

I am sure these verses are familiar to you.

13 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing

1 Corinthians 13:1-3

The easiest place to demonstrate that love is in conversation. With the words and attitudes we demonstrate when we speak to or about people and situations. My prayer today is, once again, for that tiny hesitation to check my words, my tone, my posture before I speak. I want to be well seasoned with grace, mercy and truth so that people see Him. He has given me the power; I need to work on letting Him permeate through me. God will not push and overwhelm me, my choice is to let Him, a choice I have to make again and again as the day goes by. Each day, every day as often as it takes until it becomes my natural response.

I live thankful for His grace and mercy towards me, I want to live demonstrating that towards others.

One thought on “Well Seasoned

  1. Oh how true this Jules, in fact, if it were the only sermon we heard today it would be sufficient for a whole season (or seasoning) pardon the pun. Of course it isn’t a sermon but a sharing of your dealings with God and your neighbours. Nevertheless it would be of value to treat it as worthy of note.
    How we are read by our nearest and dearest and those we encounter casually, or otherwise along life’s path, becomes our witness in a way that fine words never can until they follow the former. I enjoyed this and hope to benefit from it myself this week. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

