Still haven’t found what you’re looking for?

You probably know this song. If you read the lyrics it is very sad, they sing of all their experiences including knowledge of God’s saving power but end with the yearning cry

But I still haven’t found

what I’m looking for.

I still love the song and in my youth I’ve wailed along with it in angst over boys but it is no longer the song of my soul. I have found what I am looking for, what everyone is looking for whether they recognise it or not. We walk through this life looking for acceptance, for relationship, for love, for security, for challenge, for comfort and more. We find these things in other people, in possessions, in jobs. We get self-worth from what we do, where we live, what we own. But none of these things fully satisfy us, even if they momentarily do it doesn’t last because we were made for God. We were created to find acceptance, security, love, comfort, challenge and more in relationship with Him.

As I sat this morning talking and listening to Him the phrase Lover of my soul came to me. It’s a beautiful phrase, not exactly a bible verse but gleaned from many bible verses and personal relationship. It is a spectacular phrase. A phrase used in many songs of worship and adoration.

Lover of my soul. The one who loves me unconditionally, that nothing can stop Him loving me, ever. That He has always loved me and always will. The Bible is the story of God’s love for us, for me, the best selling book of all time.

Lover of my soul. It’s personal, it’s not a general love spread out over the whole world. He loves each one of us individually. He loves me, He loves you, He loves the man next door. He knows us individually and specifically. He knows the hairs on my head, the cells in my body, the thoughts of my mind. I don’t get saved because I am a woman, or because I come from a specific town or attend a particular church where it’s a ‘mass effect’. I have to respond – me personally because that is how He loves me.

Lover of my soul. He doesn’t love what I do. He doesn’t love me because of what I look like. He doesn’t love me because of my job, or my intellect, or because I am ‘good’. He just loves the essence of me, the real me, the truth about me. Don’t anyone tell me that that is not what every person in this world searches for, because a quick look around will show that is untrue. That kind of acceptance is what everyone searches for.

He is the answer to every longing, every desire, every yearning, every need. Period.

One thought on “Still haven’t found what you’re looking for?

Leave a Reply

