Rest

I am not actually that old, my internal and external years definitely don’t match by the way, but that is a story for another day. As I was saying I am not that old and in my lifetime I remember Sundays when no shops were open, when there was limited bus service and very little traffic on the roads. It was a day when many people went to church (sometimes 2 or 3 times) and where people made time for their families. Sunday lunch was one meal where everyone would sit down together and enjoy roast meat, potatoes and veggies followed by pudding. They would catch up the weeks events and laugh and be family.

God meant us to have a day off, a day when we could be released from the trouble and strife of the week and relax in His presence, with our family. My grandma, who was a diligent housekeeper and cook, prepared the majority of her food for Sunday on Saturday so that she would have minimal work to do – not for the letter of the law but because she knew God’s blessing was good and wanted to enjoy it to the full.

Truly my soul finds rest in God;
    my salvation comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
    he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

Psalm 62:1-2

Things have changed, now Sunday is just like any other day and I miss the quiet. It was good to come home from church and sit down with whoever turned up – both my mum and mother-in-law welcomed anyone to the table – and fellowship. Fortunately my rest comes from God not a day and I can trust in Him.

Find a couple of minutes today amid the busyness and meditate on these verses, on Him. He is our rock and fortress. He is the unshaken ground beneath us no matter what comes.He is our rest.

Trust in him at all times, you people;
    pour out your hearts to him,
    for God is our refuge.

Psalm 62:8

He’s waiting to hear from us, to listen to our joys and sorrows, to gather up all we pour out and bless us.

Why? Because He loves us.

One thought on “Rest

Leave a Reply

