My Undoing

I discovered an album this morning, The Undoing by Steffany Gretzinger.You can find the album on YouTube and buy it on iTunes. Sometimes you find a song on an album that you love, I found three – the first three. I haven’t got past song 4 yet because it was my undoing. As if someone had looked into my heart, taken the contents and spread them out in full view.

Every knows that
I was the good girl
I did my best to
Make everyone happy with me
Then I found out that
It was impossible to please
The whole crowd

So I spoke up and I spoke out
I learned that love don’t hold its tongue
And passion doesn’t bow to what they think
It’s You and me
Sometimes it’s painful to be brave
To look fear in the face and know your name
To find your strength

I Spoke Up – Steffanie Gretzinger

You’ve read my confessions of the struggle to speak out, to be honest, to be who He has made me. Listen to the album. I am reading the lyrics and they all speak of what I feel, what I try to say.

His graciousness never ceases to amaze me. As I continue to listen, the lyrics are so profoundly intimate and perfect. He never stops pouring out His love on me, on us.

16 And so we know and rely on the love God has for us.

God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in them.

1 John 4:16

One thought on “My Undoing

  1. Speaking the truth in love. Lord help us to know what is true, what is kind and what is necessary; and to speak with earnest love that the hearer may be touched by You. Amen

    Like

Leave a Reply

