Still Sitting.

I am still under the profound effect of yesterday morning’s sitting. When I went to bed last night, as usual I started to read before I went to sleep, I was a chapter or two in and felt God say ‘remember you wanted to just sit before me…’ Book down and I did. I knew I might drift off but it was OK because I could dream dreams. Again it wasn’t easy, my mind gets full of stuff but those moments when I was sitting before Him were precious and the whole time was special. Who ever told me I could only have my quiet time in the morning (that’d be me) was mistaken! I can have it at both ends of the day and in between.

So I did fall asleep and when I woke in the night as I do sometimes I went back there, back to that place of safety and peace and love and let Him sing over me as I went back to sleep. Then this morning as I journalled I was musing on the other people and their stuff that I can’t deal with. Truth is I can’t deal with anyone else’s stuff. I can’t fix them, put them right. I can’t even fix myself. That’s His job with my submission to His hand. I felt the peace again. It’s bringing tears to my eyes now, tears of joy, of delight, of overwhelming peace as I consider the sense of His presence that surrounds me.

May he give you the desire of your heart
    and make all your plans succeed.

Psalm 20:4

This verse was at the bottom of the page in my journal and that’s it. My desire is to be in His presence, to be His dwelling place here on earth as I am spiritually in His dwelling place in heaven. That is the desire of my heart. I desire that others join me there, that the stuff they have that needs fixing brings them to Him. Then as I bask in His light and am pruned and changed by Him, they are too. But it’s not my problem to worry about. My task is to dwell with Him and allow Him to dwell with me.

For what we preach is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, and ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake.

2 Corinthians 4:5

When He indwells me and fills me with the love he has for me, that overflows to those around me in so many ways. It also gives me a goofy kinda smile. So if you know me and see me and see that smile you’ll know why. I’ll hope to see that smile on you too!

Woohoo!

4 thoughts on “Still Sitting.

  1. Just to keep on sitting at His feet in our hearts all the day and night 24/7.
    It’s the practice of His Presence as Brother Lawrence so eloquently wrote. Wonderful Jules

    Like

  2. I Love your point about being with Him in the evening too. I had someone give me a picture a while back about me sitting in some great big library and God saying: don’t read, just be with me. Listen to me direct. Still need to obey that!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Checking In. | Shiny Thoughts

Leave a comment