Let Him Be

Pentecost, I woke up with anticipation, I read the Word and prayed with eagerness for the Holy Spirit to move in me, in His church both my bit and worldwide. I reminded Him of His promises.

28 “And afterward,
    I will pour out my Spirit on all people.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy,
    your old men will dream dreams,
    your young men will see visions.
29 Even on my servants, both men and women,
    I will pour out my Spirit in those days.

Joel 2:28-29

Awesome promises.

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,
    because the Lord has anointed me
    to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
    to proclaim freedom for the captives
    and release from darkness for the prisoners,
to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor
    and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn,

Isaiah 61:1-2

I prayed for a mighty wind and tongues of fire. I prayed in tongues and for His gifts. I prayed that one by one by one by one we would be changed. This is an intimate personal thing first. It has to be, my heart has to be changed or how can I reach out to others? The disciples had been hiding in the upper room before the Holy Spirit was poured out. Pentecost changed them, made them fearless.

I want that. I want that complete trust, to be totally sold out for Jesus. Impacting me first, then my family and then beyond to the world. That’s what He intended. I was passionate and I prayed that it would remain throughout the day not just for the morning or until a disgruntlement crossed my path and I stopped to chat. Onwards, upwards towards my calling.

It doesn’t matter what ‘style’ of church you go to, God is the same. He wants to be involved in your life – personally involved. He wants you to talk to Him, to sit with Him and listen. He wants to be the One you turn to when things are good or bad. He wants to be closer than a brother, than a best friend, than a spouse.

He created us, loves us enough to come to earth and suffer and die so we can be reconciled with Him. Then not satisfied with that He pours out His Spirit on us so that we have power to live the way He intended when He made us. Power to love, power to care, power to change, power to put others first, power to heal the brokenhearted, power to impact the poor, power to free those bound up with hurt. Power to proclaim God’s love.

Open your hearts and let Him change you today and then again tomorrow and the day after. It’s not a one time offer. 🙂

One thought on “Let Him Be

  1. Change my heart oh God
    Make it ever true
    Change my heart oh God
    Let me be like You.
    You are the Potter
    I am the clay
    Mould me and make me
    This is what I pray.

    Like

Leave a Reply

