Balance

We’re all searching for balance in life. Balance between work and play, between what we should eat and what we want to eat, between spending and saving etc. There’s an awesome tool used by all sorts of professions called a spirit level. It’s job is to ensure a surface is flat. I’m sure you’ve seen one, there are pictures in the link I shared, basically there’s a bubble in the instrument that has to be in the centre of a tube of liquid. It can be used in any direction and is pretty nifty.

A spirit level for my life would be pretty cool and fortunately God has given me one.

27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

John 14:27

When we have peace we are balanced, we have equilibrium, we’re centred. Jesus says He gives us peace. Does that mean we never have any problems, any troubles? I don’t think that’s what it means, look at the rest of the verse. The peace we have isn’t a peace the world expects or sometimes understands. It’s peace in the middle of problems. Peace that comes from knowing we rest in God’s hand and He has it under control. It’s not a peace that necessarily takes us out of the problem, but a peace that always overcomes the problem, puts it in perspective. What perspective? The perspective, the understanding, the knowledge that God is in control. That’s the sort of peace has that enabled Christians to endure vicious, cruel martyrdoms for centuries and even today.

But this peace is not just for the big decisions. I think it really is like a spirit level in my heart, a Holy Spirit level. When I am in the reality of life and feel my heart become troubled, get unsettled then I need to pause, reconnect with that peace and stop the quarrel, walk away from the situation. If I am making a decision then I need to check, do I feel at peace about this? Not do I feel happy because happiness can be deceptive. Peace, joy, love we can feel even in situations that make us unhappy because they depend on Him not our situation.

Jesus never told us to do anything impossible. If He told us to do something it was either already possible or He gave us the means to do it. So when He said do not let your hearts be troubled, don’t be afraid He knew it was possible. Or would become possible.

26 But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.

John 14:26

I have the Holy Spirit, living right with me, always always always there to remind me, to help me, to teach me. He longs to bring me closer to Jesus, to help me change to be more like Jesus, the perfect One. God is so good to me, to us, He has provided everything I need. So, as I walk along through life, I need to keep an eye on that level and when the bubble goes off-kilter, when my heart becomes troubled I need to listen to that voice and do whatever is needed to be at peace again.

Nothing in the gospels ever suggests Jesus acted hastily, or was rushed. Peace is a gift from God and I should make the most of it by making sure I keep hold of it, or better still – let it keep hold of me.

The fruit of that righteousness will be peace;
    its effect will be quietness and confidence forever.

Isaiah 32:17

One thought on “Balance

Leave a Reply

