Constant

Apologies for no blog yesterday, I was at a conference over night. It was a blessed time and I got to thinking that it’s good to feel good, to feel blessed, to know God’s presence, His goodness and mercy. To be in love with Him and feel consumed by wanting to know more of Him, wanting to spend time with Him and His people, wanting to share His goodness and be everything He wants me to be. It’s good and I pray, hope, wish to be in this position for the rest of my life.

Reality check: is that possible? I know I always feel that buzz after a conference, after an intense prayer meeting, after hearing Him speak as I read the Bible, after Sunday morning church. Is it possible to maintain that through the week? For the months in between those ‘special’ celebrations that pump me up? Is it really possible to live the life He calls us to – to be Light of the World, Salt of the earth 24/7? To live as the New Creation day in day out amid the washing and cooking and cleaning, on grey days in a world that doesn’t know Him?

Complete honesty – I don’t feel like it is. When it gets down to the nitty gritty I fall, I fail and so how can it be possible? It’s impossible to be perfect, to never fail. Only Jesus is perfect. I get filled up and overflowing and as I overflow I also leak and get empty. So obviously until my next filling I am going to be running on quarter full or even worse on empty.

This is a huge lie. Possibly the hugest lie we face. Humanly it makes sense that I go in fits and spurts, that’s my experience. But that’s not God’s plan for me. He doesn’t want me to run on empty or quarter or even half full. He wants me to have abundant life all the time. I have the indwelling presence of the Holy Spirit.

He

lives

in

me.

All the time, every day, 24/7. The very presence of God in me, a thought away, closer than a brother, than a husband. I don’t need to wait for Sunday, to need a conference, to be with others, I can meet with God right where I am second by second. I am not saying any of those things are bad or even optional, we need fellowship and God blesses us when we meet together but if I think they are the only places I can receive, experience, touch the great power of God I am in error. Every morning when I wake I can ask Him to be with me as I walk through the day. My mind transformed by spending time with Him so that He IS the first thing I respond with in any and every situation. I worry that will make me out of touch with people but people loved Jesus, they flocked to Him, why would people today be any different?

 His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.

2 Peter 1:3

Here, now in this good buzz, while I feel God speaking, hear Him guiding I am going to listen harder, learn His voice so that when the buzz fades the presence of God within me, guiding me will not be lost amid the noise of life. I am going to attune my ear to His voice and look for the signs of His hand at work and LIVE as He promised I would a rich and abundant life that will bless everyone I meet including myself.

Leave a Reply

